49ers up against 2013 cap


49ers up against 2013 cap

The NFL Players Association is expecting the smallest increase in the history of the league's salary cap, according to a report Saturday.

The NFLPA is planning for the 2013 cap to be $121 million per team, reports Jason Cole of Yahoo! Sports. That would be an increase of $400,000 over this year's limit.

Currently, the 49ers have 45 players under contract for next season at a cap cost of $120.98 million.

One of those players is backup quarterback Alex Smith, who currently accounts for $9.75 million of the team's 2013 figure. If Smith is still on the roster on April 1, 2013, his entire $7.5 million base salary becomes fully guaranteed.

If the 49ers release Smith, they would owe him $1 million. If they were able to trade Smith, his entire salary would be cleared off the 49ers' books.

Smith signed a three-year contract in the offseason that included no signing bonus. He received $8 million in guarantees this season, combining his salary and roster bonus. In the second year, he received a $1 million guarantee.

The 49ers' most notable players who are not under contract for next season are safety Dashon Goldson, tight end Delanie Walker, receivers Randy Moss and Ted Ginn, and defensive linemen Isaac Sopoaga and Ricky Jean Francois.

49ers 2013 salary cap
David Akers $3,616,668
Eric Bakhtiari $555,000
Alex Boone $1,940,000
NaVorro Bowman $3,105,562
Ahmad Brooks $6,650,000
Tarell Brown $1,907,314
Garrett Celek $482,000
Perrish Cox $555,000
Michael Crabtree $5,770,439
Chris Culliver $704,719
Anthony Davis $3,566,666
Vernon Davis $8,739,916
Anthony Dixon $605,150
Demarcus Dobbs $559,168
Darius Fleming $521,200
Jonathan Goodwin $5,016,668
Frank Gore $6,450,000
Jewel Hampton $481,666
Parys Haralson $2,870,000
Kendall Hunter $664,805
Mike Iupati $2,629,500
LaMichael James $754,295
A.J. Jenkins $1,578,984
Brian Jennings $1,161,000
Colin Kaepernick $1,397,535
Daniel Kilgore $595,075
Andy Lee $4,050,000
Joe Looney $586,301
Mario Manningham $4,887,500
Ray McDonald $2,561,985
Bruce Miller $570,612
Trenton Robinson $507,625
Carlos Rogers $7,344,531
Aldon Smith $3,922,909
Alex Smith $9,750,000
Justin Smith $8,000,000
C.J. Spillman $1,558,333
Joe Staley $2,800,000
Scott Tolzien $555,000
Will Tukuafu $555,000
Donte Whitner $4,833,334
Michael Wilhoite $480,000
Ian Williams $555,000
Kyle Williams $594,839
Patrick Willis $3,605,125

49ers unsigned for 2013
Dashon Goldson
Delanie Walker
Isaac Sopoaga
Ricky Jean Francois
Randy Moss
Larry Grant
Tramaine Brock
Leonard Davis
Ted Ginn
Clark Haggans
Tavares Gooden
Darcel McBath

Report: Stubblefield taken into custody, booked into jail in no-bail case

Santa Clara Sheriff Office

Report: Stubblefield taken into custody, booked into jail in no-bail case

Former 49ers defensive lineman Dana Stubblefield is behind bars. 

According to the Mercury News, Stubblefield was led away from court to jail in handcuffs Friday after a judge found there was probable cause to hold him over for trial on charges of rape stemming from May 2016. 

Stubblefield is charged with raping an intellectually disabled woman on April 9, 2015 at his Morgan Hill home when she had gone to interview for a babysitting job. 

According to the same report, Stubblefield had been free on $250,000 bail for more than a year. But the judge ordered him taken into custody Friday after prosecutors formally added the allegation that Stubblefield used a gun during the assault, which made it a no-bail case.

Stubblefield has pleaded not guilty and publicly denied the five felony charges and gun enhancement that prosecutors say could lead to at least 15 years to life in prison if he is convicted.

Stubblefield played 11 seasons in the NFL, including the first five with the 49ers. He later returned to the 49ers in 2001 and ’02, before finishing his career with the Raiders.

Stubblefield, a first-round pick of the 49ers in 1993, was the NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year after recording 10.5 sacks. He was named the NFL’s Defensive Player of the Year with a career-high 15 sacks in 1997. He signed a lucrative contract with Washington in 1998.

Drafted by Baalke with injury, former 49ers WR signs with Colts


Drafted by Baalke with injury, former 49ers WR signs with Colts

The 49ers recently re-signed eight of the 10 players who finished the season on the team’s practice squad.

Wide receiver DeAndre Smelter, who was not among the first wave of 49ers signings to 2018 contracts, signed Wednesday with the Indianapolis Colts, ending his three-season association with the organization.

Smelter was one of general manager Trent Baalke’s redshirt draft picks. The team selected him in the fourth round of the 2015 draft despite a torn ACL that ended his final season at Georgia Tech.

Smelter spent his first season on an injured list. He was waived at the beginning of the past two seasons, finishing both years on the 49ers’ practice squad. Smelter appeared in two games in 2016 and caught one pass for 23 yards.

Last season, the 49ers signed wide receivers Louis Murphy and Max McCaffrey to spots on the 53-man roster instead of Smelter, who remained on the practice squad.

Wide receiver DeAndre Carter, who also spent the entire season on the practice squad, was signed recently to the team’s 90-man roster.

Others who finished the season on the 49ers practice squad to remain on the team’s offseason roster are: quarterback Nick Mullens, tight end Cole Wick, offensive linemen Andrew Lauderdale and Pace Murphy, linebacker Boseko Lokombo, and defensive backs Trovon Reed and Channing Stribling.

The 49ers also signed fullback Malcolm Johnson, who spent last season on injured reserve with the Seattle Seahawks. Johnson appeared in 19 games over the 2015 and ’16 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. He was a sixth-round draft pick in ’15.

Offensive linemen Cameron Hunt, who finished the season on the 49ers’ practice squad, remains unsigned. Guard JP Flynn is also unsigned. He sustained a torn patellar tendon in November and underwent surgery that was expected to keep him out up to nine months.