Bruins unveil full 2016-17 regular season schedule


Bruins unveil full 2016-17 regular season schedule

The Bruins will start the season with three road games in Columbus, Toronto and Winnipeg, and they will not be hosting their traditional Black Friday matinee at TD Garden for the second time in the last three seasons. Those are a couple of factoids gleaned after the Tuesday afternoon release of the NHL regular season master schedule for all 30 teams with the Bruins opening their season on Thursday, Oct. 13 against the Columbus Blue Jackets at Nationwide Arena.

The Bruins will have a season-long four-game homestand in early February, playing the Maple Leafs, Sharks, Canucks and Canadiens during that span, and will close out the season playing eight of their final 10 games on home ice at TD Garden.

Away from Boston, the Bruins have season-long four-game road trips in October (N.Y. Rangers, Detroit, Florida, Tampa Bay), December (Florida, Carolina, Columbus, Buffalo), January (Florida, Carolina, St. Louis, Nashville), February (San Jose, Anaheim, Los Angeles, Dallas) and March (Vancouver, Calgary, Edmonton, Toronto). The Bruins will also play on Thanksgiving night in Ottawa against the Senators amidst a back-to-back set of games finishing up on Black Friday night at the Garden against the Calgary Flames.

Here is the full 82-game schedule for Boston during the 2016-17 regular season with all start times local to where the game is being played:

Thurs. Oct. 13 at Columbus, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 15 at Toronto, 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Oct. 17 at Winnipeg, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Oct. 20 vs. New Jersey, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 22 vs. Montreal, 7:00 p.m.
Tues. Oct. 25 vs. Minnesota, 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Oct. 26 at N.Y. Rangers, 8:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 29 at Detroit, 7:00 p.m.

Tues. Nov. 1 at Florida, 7:30 p.m.
Thurs. Nov. 3 at Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 5 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Nov. 7 vs. Buffalo, 7:00 p.m.
Tues. Nov. 8 at Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Thurs. Nov. 10 vs. Columbus, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 12 at Arizona, 6:00 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 13 at Colorado, 5:00 p.m.
Thurs. Nov. 17 at Minnesota, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 19 vs. Winnipeg, 7:00 p.m.
Tues. Nov. 22 vs. St. Louis, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Nov. 24 at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Nov. 25 vs. Calgary, 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 27 vs. Tampa Bay, 1:00 p.m.
Tues. Nov. 29 at Philadelphia, 7:00 p.m.

Thurs. Dec. 1 vs. Carolina, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 3 at Buffalo, 1:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 5 vs. Florida, 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 7 at Washington, 8:00 p.m.
Thurs. Dec. 8 vs. Colorado, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 10 vs. Toronto, 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 12 at Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Dec. 14 at Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.
Thurs. Dec. 15 vs. Anaheim, 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 18 vs. Los Angeles, 1:00 p.m.
Tues. Dec. 20 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Dec. 22 at Florida, 7:30 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 23 at Carolina, 7:30 p.m.
Tues. Dec. 27 at Columbus, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Dec. 29 at Buffalo, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 31 vs. Buffalo, 1:00 p.m.

Mon. Jan. 2 at New Jersey, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 5 vs. Edmonton, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 7 at Florida, 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 8 at Carolina, 5:00 p.m.
Tues. Jan. 10 at St. Louis, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Jan. 12 at Nashville, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 14 vs. Philadelphia, 1:00 p.m.
Mon. Jan. 16 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 1:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 18 at Detroit, 8:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 20 vs. Chicago, 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 22 at Pittsburgh, 12:30 p.m.
Tues. Jan 24 vs. Detroit, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Jan 26 vs. Pittsburgh, 7:00 p.m.
Tues. Jan. 31 at Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 1 at Washington, 8:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 4 vs. Toronto, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Feb. 9 vs. San Jose, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 11 vs. Vancouver, 1:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 12 vs. Montreal, 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 19 at San Jose, 5:30 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 22 at Anaheim, 7:30 p.m.
Thurs. Feb. 23 at Los Angeles, 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 26 at Dallas, 11:30 a.m.
Tues. Feb. 28 vs. Arizona, 7:00 p.m.

Thurs. Mar. 2 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 4 vs. New Jersey, 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 6 at Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 8 vs. Detroit, 8:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 11 vs. Philadelphia, 1:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 13 at Vancouver, 7:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 15 at Calgary, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Mar. 16 at Edmonton, 7:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 20 at Toronto, 7:30 p.m.
Tues. Mar. 21 vs. Ottawa, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Mar. 23 vs. Tampa Bay, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 25 at N.Y. Islanders, 7:00 p.m.
Tues. Mar. 28 vs. Nashville, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Mar 30 vs. Dallas, 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Apr. 1 vs. Florida, 1:00 p.m.
Sun. Apr. 2 at Chicago, 11:30 a.m.
Tues. Apr. 4 vs. Tampa Bay, 7:00 p.m.
Thurs. Apr. 6 vs. Ottawa, 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Apr. 8 vs. Washington, 3:00 p.m.

The banged up Bruins have two more injured players in Nash, McQuaid

The banged up Bruins have two more injured players in Nash, McQuaid

BOSTON – It’s another day and another injured player, or two, for the Boston Bruins.

Veteran right winger Rick Nash was a late scratch for the Bruins on Monday night against the Blue Jackets after getting banged up in last weekend’s win over the Tampa Bay Lightning, and Bruins defenseman Adam McQuaid had to exit due to injury in the third period of Monday night’s 5-4 overtime loss at TD Garden.  

“[Nash] got hit in Tampa, so we thought he was fine. He had an upper-body injury,” said Bruce Cassidy. “This morning, pregame skate, we thought he’d be fine, and it turned out after pregame skate, early afternoon, he wasn’t. So, you know, we had to make a call for Anton Blidh.”

The Nash absence forced the Bruins to recall Blidh from Providence on emergency recall and plug him into the lineup not using him in the last couple of road games in Florida, and it also pushed 21-year-old rookie Ryan Donato into a top-6 role alongside David Krejci in his NHL debut. Clearly things worked out for Donato with a 1-goal, 3-point performance in his first NHL game, and that along with some quality organizational depth is helping them withstand some of the injuries.

McQuaid was held to just 10:42 of ice time that was the fewest among all Bruins D-men on Monday night, but it was unclear exactly what befell him on the ice injury-wise.  

It is getting a little ridiculous for a Bruins team that’s missing Patrice Bergeron (fractured right foot), Zdeno Chara (upper body), Jake DeBrusk (upper body), Charlie McAvoy (sprained left MCL), David Backes (right leg laceration) and now may have to go without Nash (upper body) and McQuaid (undisclosed) as well. Clearly it’s something the Bruins will have to play through for the time being while simply hoping that it all conveniently clears up ahead of the Stanley Cup playoffs. 

“You know, you call a player up [from the AHL], right? We signed one out of college; that helped. So, that’s it. [The injuries] are uncontrollable to a certain extent. It’s kind of enough, now. I would agree. We’ve had our share, so let’s get these guys healthy and get ready to play,” said Cassidy. “I don’t know. You’ve got to play the game in front of you and you just hope the string of, kind of, tough luck, is over.

“That’s it. It’s a physical game. We’ve said all along, to have successful seasons, both regular and playoffs, you need a certain level of health. That’s what we’re hoping, that these guys come back, and that’s it. Until then, we plug the holes and play the game in front of you.”

Plugging those holes will continue to get more and more challenging if the Bruins keep losing players from their lineup on a nightly basis as they may have on Monday with both Nash and McQuaid now banged up as well.


NBC Sports Boston Breakfast Pod: Donato impresses in NHL debut

NBC Sports Boston Photo

NBC Sports Boston Breakfast Pod: Donato impresses in NHL debut

1:13 - Joe Haggerty joins from the TD Garden to discuss the non-call on Brad Marchand’s breakaway, Ryan Donato shining in his NHL debut, and when Patrice Bergeron could be returning.

6:16 - Gary Tanguay, Mike Giardi, and Trenni Kusnierek debate if the Patriots are starting to replace the talent they’ve lost this offseason as they have acquired Adrian Clayborn, Jeremy Hill, and Jason McCourty. 

11:01 - A. Sherrod Blakely joins Boston Sports Tonight to talk about the Celtics continuing to struggle as the injuries have piled up.