BRIGHTON, Mass – The Bruins survived a 15-shot barrage in the third period from the San Jose Sharks to protect a 2-1 win on Thursday night and the bulk of the work was done by Anton Khudobin and the B’s defenders in front of him. Still, they might have had a late assist from the refs as the Bruins got a whistle while hemmed in their zone with less than two minutes to play when the B’s net was dislodged.
- Young B's learn to 'stay calm' protecting lead in victory over Sharks
- HAGGERTY: Khudobin continues to look strong behind Rask
Replays showed Zdeno Chara and Anton Khudobin making contact with the two posts prior to the net getting dislodged. The whistle from the refs cut like a knife through the momentum of the play that was clearly going away from the B’s. Boston held on for the win once play resumed and Khudobin said afterward he was simply pushing off the post to get to the other side of the net as all goaltenders are taught to do inside the crease.
"I don't know what happened. That happened last game too. I tried to get over for my post coverage and tried to get over to the left side, and the last game [against Buffalo] it happened the exact same,” said Khudobin, who made 36 saves. “I tried to push off the post. What can you do? It's the referee’s decision and we're just the players."
If the referees were to make a call at that particular point in the game, it would be for a penalty shot that would signify a major infraction handing the Sharks a chance to tie the score. Here’s the rule:
63.5 Penalty Shot – If the goal post is deliberately displaced by a goalkeeper or player during the course of a “breakaway,” a penalty shot will be awarded to the non-offending team, which shot shall be
taken by the player last in possession of the puck. If by reason of insufficient time in the regular playing time or by reason of penalties already imposed, the minor penalty assessed to a
player for deliberately displacing his own goal post cannot be served in its entirety within the regular playing time of the game or at any time
in overtime, a penalty shot shall be awarded against the offending team.
Clearly, the refs didn’t see the play as something as egregiously wrong as the Sharks players did and San Jose coach Peter DeBoer was complaining postgame that he never got an explanation from the officials.
“Yeah. It looked pretty clear…I didn’t get an explanation why,” said DeBoer. “So, I didn’t get an explanation for a lot of things tonight. It didn’t surprise me. But we’ll concentrate on what we have to concentrate on – that’s our game. We have to find a way to win.”