Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews will soon no longer have the NHL's highest cap hits

Beginning in 2018-19, Patrick Kane and Jonathan Toews will no longer have the highest cap hits in the NHL.

The pair of Blackhawks superstars inked identical eight-year, $84 million contracts that kicked in during the 2015-16 season, with their annual average value of $10.5 million being the highest among all players. Until Wednesday when it was announced in Edmonton that captain Connor McDavid agreed to an eight-year extension worth $100 million, which comes out to a $12.5 million AAV.

The 20-year-old All-Star had a historic sophomore campaign with the Oilers by becoming the third-youngest player (Sidney Crosby and Wayne Gretzky) in league history to win the NHL's scoring title and Hart Trophy for MVP. He also helped the franchise snap a 10-year playoff drought.

McDavid's new deal will take up 16.7 percent of the current $75 million cap ceiling; the maximum allowed by the Collective Bargaining Agreement is 20 percent. For comparison, when Kane and Toews signed their megadeals, they took up 15.2 percent each.

Montreal's Carey Price will also pull even with Kane and Toews starting in 2018-19 after recently signing the largest contract by a goaltender, an eight-year, $84 million deal with a $10.5 million cap hit.