Flyers 2012-13 Schedule Released: Puck Drops in Style on October 11th

Flyers 2012-13 Schedule Released: Puck Drops in Style on October 11th

The NHL released the 2012-13 schedule today, announcing the Flyers will host the Boston Bruins in the first part of a nationally televised doubleheader to kick off the new season.

NBC Sports will air the rematch of last season's opener, when the Flyers spoiled the Bruins' Stanley Cup banner raising with a 2-1 win. That game will be followed immediately by St. Louis at Colorado.

Boston and Philly will collide three more times during the month of March, including a home-and-home March 30-31.

Thoughts on some key dates, plus the full schedule below.

The Flyers won't have to wait long to get their first crack at rival Pittsburgh. Just one week into the season, they'll welcome the Penguins to the Wells Fargo Center in game number three on October 18. They don't meet again in Philly until March 26, part two of a home-and-home series, with the final of their six tilts coming down to the final week of the season, April 9 at WFC.

On that note, the Flyers close out their season at home on April 13 against the Rangers. It was only 2010 when the two teams memorably decided their playoff fates with a shootout in game number 82. Claude Giroux's goal gave Philadelphia the 2-1 victory, catapulting them into the postseason, and all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals, while New York watched.

The Devils, Eastern Conference Champions and Flyers playoff ousters, arrive in Philly for the first of six on November 1. The clubs then go head-to-head three times between Decemebr 11-21, which includes the remainder of the home games against New Jersey. The final of those three also kicks off the longest road trip of the year.

The Flyers have eight in a row on the road over Christmas and New Years as they vacate the building for the annual Disney on Ice shows. They'll swing out west for six of those, including their lone slate with the reigning Stanley Cup Champion Los Angeles Kings on January 3. I'm sure that will be received back home with exactly the right amount of hype.

The Flyers also have a pair of five-game road trips against eastern opponents, from Nov. 24 to and Dec. 4, and again from Feb. 12 to Feb. 20.

Full schedule:

October 2012
Thu Oct 11, 2012     vs. Bruins         7:00 PM     
Sat Oct 13, 2012     @ Islanders         7:00 PM     
Thu Oct 18, 2012     vs. Penguins         7:00 PM     
Sat Oct 20, 2012     vs. Jets         7:00 PM     
Thu Oct 25, 2012     @ Canadiens         7:30 PM     
Sat Oct 27, 2012     vs. Maple Leafs     7:00 PM     
Sun Oct 28, 2012     @ Sabres         5:00 PM     
Tue Oct 30, 2012     vs. Stars         7:00 PM     

November 2012
Thu Nov 1, 2012     vs. Devils         7:00 PM     
Sat Nov 3, 2012     vs. Ducks         1:00 PM     
Sun Nov 4, 2012     @ Rangers         7:00 PM     
Tue Nov 6, 2012     vs. Sabres        7:00 PM     
Thu Nov 8, 2012     @ Hurricanes         7:00 PM     
Sat Nov 10, 2012     vs. Hurricanes         7:00 PM     
Tue Nov 13, 2012     vs. Wild         7:00 PM     
Fri Nov 16, 2012     @ Sabres         7:00 PM     
Sat Nov 17, 2012     vs. Sabres         7:00 PM     
Wed Nov 21, 2012     vs. Senators         7:00 PM     
Fri Nov 23, 2012     vs. Jets         3:00 PM     
Sat Nov 24, 2012     @ Rangers         1:00 PM     
Wed Nov 28, 2012     @ Maple Leafs         7:00 PM     
Thu Nov 29, 2012     @ Islanders         7:00 PM     

December 2012
Sat Dec 1, 2012     @ Panthers         7:30 PM     
Tue Dec 4, 2012     @ Lightning         7:30 PM     
Thu Dec 6, 2012     vs. Sharks         7:00 PM     
Sat Dec 8, 2012     @ Islanders         1:00 PM     
Sun Dec 9, 2012     vs. Islanders         7:00 PM     
Tue Dec 11, 2012     vs. Devils         7:00 PM     
Thu Dec 13, 2012     @ Capitals         7:00 PM     
Sat Dec 15, 2012     vs. Hurricanes         1:00 PM     
Wed Dec 19, 2012     vs. Devils         7:30 PM     
Fri Dec 21, 2012     @ Devils         7:00 PM     
Sun Dec 23, 2012     @ Senators         1:00 PM     
Thu Dec 27, 2012     @ Predators         8:00 PM     
Sat Dec 29, 2012     @ Blues         8:00 PM     
Mon Dec 31, 2012     @ Coyotes         9:00 PM     

January 2013
Thu Jan 3, 2013     @ Kings         10:30 PM     
Sat Jan 5, 2013     @ Sharks         10:30 PM     
Sun Jan 6, 2013     @ Canucks         9:00 PM     
Thu Jan 10, 2013     vs. Canadiens         7:00 PM     
Sat Jan 12, 2013     vs. Rangers         1:00 PM     
Tue Jan 15, 2013     @ Jets             8:00 PM     
Thu Jan 17, 2013     vs. Capitals         7:00 PM     
Sat Jan 19, 2013     vs. Flames         1:00 PM     
Sun Jan 20, 2013     @ Blackhawks         7:30 PM     
Wed Jan 23, 2013     vs. Maple Leafs     7:30 PM     
Tue Jan 29, 2013     @ Wild             8:00 PM     

February 2013
Fri Feb 1, 2013     @ Capitals         7:00 PM     
Sat Feb 2, 2013     vs. Red Wings         7:00 PM     
Tue Feb 5, 2013     vs. Lightning         7:00 PM     
Thu Feb 7, 2013     vs. Panthers         7:00 PM     
Sat Feb 9, 2013     vs. Oilers         2:00 PM     
Tue Feb 12, 2013     @ Penguins         7:00 PM     
Thu Feb 14, 2013     @ Blue Jackets         7:00 PM     
Fri Feb 15, 2013     @ Devils         7:00 PM     
Sun Feb 17, 2013     @ Rangers         TBD     
Wed Feb 20, 2013     @ Penguins         7:30 PM     
Thu Feb 21, 2013     vs. Panthers         7:00 PM     
Sat Feb 23, 2013     vs. Avalanche         1:00 PM     
Mon Feb 25, 2013     vs. Rangers         7:00 PM     
Wed Feb 27, 2013     vs. Capitals         7:30 PM     

March 2013
Fri Mar 1, 2013     vs. Islanders         7:00 PM     
Sat Mar 2, 2013     @ Maple Leafs         7:00 PM     
Mon Mar 4, 2013     vs. Lightning         7:00 PM     
Sat Mar 9, 2013     @ Bruins         1:00 PM     
Sun Mar 10, 2013     vs. Blackhawks        3:00 PM     
Wed Mar 13, 2013     @ Devils         7:30 PM     
Fri Mar 15, 2013     vs. Canadiens         7:00 PM     
Sun Mar 17, 2013     @ Panthers         6:00 PM     
Mon Mar 18, 2013     @ Lightning         7:30 PM     
Fri Mar 22, 2013     @ Hurricanes         7:00 PM     
Sun Mar 24, 2013     @ Penguins         7:30 PM     
Tue Mar 26, 2013     vs. Penguins         7:00 PM     
Thu Mar 28, 2013     vs. Islanders         7:00 PM     
Sat Mar 30, 2013     @ Bruins         1:00 PM     
Sun Mar 31, 2013     vs. Bruins         7:30 PM     

April 2013
Tue Apr 2, 2013     @ Canadiens         7:30 PM     
Thu Apr 4, 2013     @ Senators         7:30 PM     
Sat Apr 6, 2013     @ Jets             7:00
PM     
Tue Apr 9, 2013     vs. Penguins         7:00 PM     
Thu Apr 11, 2013     vs. Senators         7:00 PM     
Sat Apr 13, 2013     vs. Rangers         3:00 PM

NBC Sports Philadelphia Internship - Advertising/Sales

plain-peacock-logo.png

NBC Sports Philadelphia Internship - Advertising/Sales

Position Title: Intern
Department: Advertising/Sales
Company: NBC Sports Philadelphia
# of hours / week: 10 – 20 hours

Deadline: November 20

Basic Function

This position will work closely with the Vice President of Sales in generating revenue through commercial advertisements and sponsorship sales. The intern will gain first-hand sales experience through working with Sales Assistants and AEs on pitches, sales-calls and recapping material.

Duties and Responsibilities

• Assist Account Executive on preparation of Sales Presentations
• Cultivate new account leads for local sales
• Track sponsorships in specified programs
• Assist as point of contact with sponsors on game night set up and pre-game hospitality elements.
• Assist with collection of all proof of performance materials.
• Perform Competitive Network Analysis
• Update Customer database
• Other various projects as assigned

Requirements

1. Good oral and written communication skills.
2. Knowledge of sports.
3. Ability to work non-traditional hours, weekends & holidays
4. Ability to work in a fast-paced, high-pressure environment
5. Must be 19 years of age or older
6. Must be a student in pursuit of an Associate, Bachelor, Master or Juris Doctor degree
7. Must have unrestricted authorization to work in the US
8. Must have sophomore standing or above
9. Must have a 3.0 GPA

Interested students should apply here and specify they're interested in the ad/sales internship.

About NBC internships

Sixers let game slip away in second half against Celtics

Sixers let game slip away in second half against Celtics

BOX SCORE

The box score shows an imbalanced fourth quarter when the Sixers were outscored 33-20 by the Celtics. 

The play-by-play breakdown demonstrates the Celtics breaking an 84-84 tie with seven minutes remaining to end the game on an 18-8 run. 

The stat line tells the story of the Sixers giving up seven points to Kyrie Irving in less than four minutes to close out the game. 

That’s how the Celtics took over the Sixers home opener. The Sixers felt the game slip away earlier than that. 

“We struggled in the third to continue what we had going,” Jerryd Bayless said. “We didn’t hold everything together like we should have.”

The Sixers led the Celtics 50-46 at halftime. JJ Redick had matched Irving’s 12 points and the Sixers had only given up four points off turnovers, a needed improvement from their first game. 

They jumped ahead by nine, 65-56, with 4:35 to play in the third. That’s when they noticed the change. The Sixers went scoreless for a two-minute stretch. The Celtics failed to hit a field goal during that stretch (0 for 4), but they scored six points off free throws. The Sixers didn’t take advantage of the Celtics' shooting skid; instead, they hit one, too (0 for 3 from the field, three turnovers). 

“That was our chance to build that lead,” Redick said. “We were getting stops and we couldn’t get anything going offensively. It seemed like we were stuck at 65 for what seemed like forever. It was a seven-point game and we were getting stops and we never could push it past that, and it ended up being a three-point game to start the fourth. That was for sure when the momentum started shifting.”

The Sixers shot 39.1 percent from the field in the fourth while the Celtics were an efficient 64.7 percent. The Sixers fell flat from long range (1 for 6) and took just two free throws. The Celtics, meanwhile, scored 12 points from three (4 for 8) and went 7 for 7 at the line. In addition to Irving's offensive burst, Al Horford and Shane Larkin combined for 17 points in the quarter. 

“My mind goes to stops and not fouling,” Brett Brown said. “I think we fouled too much.” 

This loss emphasizes the importance of holding onto a lead when it’s in the Sixers' grasp instead of having to play catch up. Not when their roster is newly constructed and they are looking to young players down the stretch. Not when they are facing a a player like Irving who can take over at will, especially when he sees a window of opportunity. 

“Come on, that’s winning time,” Irving said of the fourth.