Report: Mystics' Thibault wins coach of year - NBC Sports

Report: Mystics' Thibault wins coach of year
Washington Mystics head coach Michael Thibault reacts in the second half of Game 1 against the Atlanta Dream of their WNBA basketball Eastern Conference semifinals playoffs series, Thursday, Sept. 19, 2013, in Atlanta. Mystics won 71-56. (AP Photo/Todd Kirkland)
September 21, 2013, 12:00 am

Washington's Mike Thibault has won the WNBA coach of the year, said a person familiar with the situation.

He will receive the award Saturday night in Washington before the Mystics face Atlanta in the second game of the Eastern Conference semifinals, the person said. The person spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because no official announcement has been made.

Thibault edged Seattle's Brian Agler and Chicago's Pokey Chatman for the award the person said.

Thibault has won the award three times (2006 and 2008) now matching Van Chancellor for the most ever in league history. He also joined San Antonio coach Dan Hughes as the only coach to win the award with two different teams.

Thibault came to Washington this season after getting let go by Connecticut in November. Washington was 11-57 in the two years prior to his arrival. On Thursday night, the Mystics won their first playoff game in nine years, routing Atlanta on the road. This came after the Mystics won 17 games in the regular season.

© 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Channel Finder