Quick Links

With QBs, no Supe means no dice


With QBs, no Supe means no dice

This wont be another list of the top this or the other, but the proliferation of them got me to thinking about the greatest of all time lists and how quarterbacks are held to a team standard that isnt necessarily used for other positions.

For example, the Ravens Ray Lewis would rank high on any list of the top linebackers ever. But how important is it that Lewis won a Super Bowl? It helps, sure, just like the Steelers Super Bowl history elevates Jack Lambert.

However, suppose the Ravens never won a Super Bowl during Lewis career? Would he still rank among the best ever? The answer is yes. The proof is that the man many consider the greatest middle linebacker of all time is Dick Butkus. His Bears were never championship-caliber during his tenure in Chicago.

The Ravens Ed Reed didnt arrive in Baltimore until after the Super Bowl season, but hes high on anyones list of the best safeties ever. Also on that list? Larry Wilson, who was stuck on often-futile Cardinals squads in the 1960s and early 70s.

Compare that with the most common rankings of best quarterbacks. Whos most often near the top? Tom Brady, Joe Montana, John Elway, Peyton Manning, Johnny Unitas, Brett Favre. All of them won NFL titles. Whos just as deserving and gets downgraded for never winning a Super Bowl? Dan Marino, as good a passer as ever played in the league.

The quarterback gets extra credit and extra blame for the teams success in a way no other player is. Look up a QBs stats and youre likely to see the teams won-lost record listed along with his passing numbers. Thats not done for anyone else.

Thats just how it goes. Maybe its as it should be. After all, the quarterbacks need to earn those supermodels.

Quick Links

Fellow dance student of Ravens' Alex Collins fatally shot in Florida school shooting

USA Today Sports

Fellow dance student of Ravens' Alex Collins fatally shot in Florida school shooting

On Wednesday, February 14, a horrific school shooting claimed the lives of 17 innocent people at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla. 

The tragic event impacted people far and wide, and hit especially close to home for Ravens running back Alex Collins.

The former Arkansas star was born in Plantation, Fla., a suburb of Fort Lauderdale and went to high school just 15 miles south of Douglas High School. 

In the offseason, Collins took Irish dancing lessons to improve his footwork, and following the act of terror, the Ravens' tailback learned that one of his dance partners had been killed in the mass shooting.

17-year-old Cara Loughran attended The Drake school of Irish Dance with Collins in addition to two other Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School students and was fatally shot by the gunman on Wednesday afternoon. 

Collins took to his Twitter account to issue this heartfelt message.


“The school shooting yesterday hit home,” Collins wrote.

“We received confirmation a few hours ago we lost one of the girls, Cara Loughran. Two other girls saw and experienced unspeakable tragedy. My heart goes out to these girls, all their families and their teacher Chrissy.”

Quick Links

Baltimore Ravens to take on Chicago Bears in Hall of Fame game

USA Today Sports

Baltimore Ravens to take on Chicago Bears in Hall of Fame game

BALTIMORE -- The Baltimore Ravens and Chicago Bears will launch the NFL's 99th season by playing in the annual Hall of Fame game on Aug. 2.

The Ravens' first appearance in the Hall of Fame game, which launches the league's 2018 Enshrinement Week. Former Baltimore linebacker Ray Lewis is among the inductees, along with former Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher.

Lewis, who played 17 seasons with the Ravens, and Urlacher, who played all of his 13 seasons with Chicago, both were elected on the first ballot.

Lewis joins Jonathan Ogden as the only Ravens in the Hall of Fame. Both were selected by Baltimore in the first round of the 1996 draft.

The other members of the Class of 2018 include Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer, Randy Moss and Terrell Owens. All will be inducted on Saturday, Aug. 4.

This will be the record-tying fifth time that the Bears will play in the Hall of Fame game. They won the previous four, most recently 27-24 over Miami in 2005.