Quick Links

Who gets Ed Reed's vote for the Best of the Best?


Who gets Ed Reed's vote for the Best of the Best?

According to the Ravens faithful, Ed Reed is one of the two best Ravens of all-time, but you won't hear any trash talk from the legendary safety before the voting ends.

CSN's Brent Harris caught up to Reed at his Charity Golf Classic on Monday and asked him about reaching the finals of CSN's Best of the Best tournament.

Reed said he had been following the tournament and enjoyed the idea and the support he was receiving.

"It's something fun for [the fans] to get into and show their support and much love they have for us as players and a team," Reed said.

But a very humble Reed would not take the bait when asked who he would vote for.

"I'm not going to vote...I won't do it," he said.

If you think that's just a humble way of saying that he's going to go home and vote for himself, you would be wrong. After some more prodding, Reed finally did answer and he did not give the answer many would have expected.

"If I did I would vote for [Lewis]," Reed said. "I would vote for my big brother. He was there before me."

Reed was drafted by Baltimore in 2002 where Lewis had already been playing for six seasons. As a defensive rookie, no doubt Reed looked up to Lewis as a leader of the defense and an NFL star so perhaps his response is not as surprising as it may seem.

Even if he ultimately loses, for Reed just being considered is honor enough for the future hall of famer.

"The love that you get from the fans and the appreciation that they have for you is huge because at the end of the day that's why we [were] doing it."

The Best of the Best voting is open until noon on Tuesday. VOTE NOW!

RELATED: Would Steve Smith retire if Ravens won Super Bowl?

Quick Links

Fellow dance student of Ravens' Alex Collins fatally shot in Florida school shooting

USA Today Sports

Fellow dance student of Ravens' Alex Collins fatally shot in Florida school shooting

On Wednesday, February 14, a horrific school shooting claimed the lives of 17 innocent people at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fla. 

The tragic event impacted people far and wide, and hit especially close to home for Ravens running back Alex Collins.

The former Arkansas star was born in Plantation, Fla., a suburb of Fort Lauderdale and went to high school just 15 miles south of Douglas High School. 

In the offseason, Collins took Irish dancing lessons to improve his footwork, and following the act of terror, the Ravens' tailback learned that one of his dance partners had been killed in the mass shooting.

17-year-old Cara Loughran attended The Drake school of Irish Dance with Collins in addition to two other Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School students and was fatally shot by the gunman on Wednesday afternoon. 

Collins took to his Twitter account to issue this heartfelt message.


“The school shooting yesterday hit home,” Collins wrote.

“We received confirmation a few hours ago we lost one of the girls, Cara Loughran. Two other girls saw and experienced unspeakable tragedy. My heart goes out to these girls, all their families and their teacher Chrissy.”

Quick Links

Baltimore Ravens to take on Chicago Bears in Hall of Fame game

USA Today Sports

Baltimore Ravens to take on Chicago Bears in Hall of Fame game

BALTIMORE -- The Baltimore Ravens and Chicago Bears will launch the NFL's 99th season by playing in the annual Hall of Fame game on Aug. 2.

The Ravens' first appearance in the Hall of Fame game, which launches the league's 2018 Enshrinement Week. Former Baltimore linebacker Ray Lewis is among the inductees, along with former Bears linebacker Brian Urlacher.

Lewis, who played 17 seasons with the Ravens, and Urlacher, who played all of his 13 seasons with Chicago, both were elected on the first ballot.

Lewis joins Jonathan Ogden as the only Ravens in the Hall of Fame. Both were selected by Baltimore in the first round of the 1996 draft.

The other members of the Class of 2018 include Bobby Beathard, Robert Brazile, Brian Dawkins, Jerry Kramer, Randy Moss and Terrell Owens. All will be inducted on Saturday, Aug. 4.

This will be the record-tying fifth time that the Bears will play in the Hall of Fame game. They won the previous four, most recently 27-24 over Miami in 2005.