NCAA

VT men's hoops facing WVU, Iowa, BYU

VT men's hoops facing WVU, Iowa, BYU

On Wednesday Virginia Tech nation learned the when and where of the Hokies' ACC basketball scheudule. One day later, all the dates have been filled in. The Hokies will open the 2012-13seasonat home against East Tennessee State on November 10, the first of three straight home games. Notable opponents include Iowa and Oklahoma State at Cassell Coliseum, West Virginia in Morgantown and Brigham Young in Salt lLake City on Dec. 29.
New head coach James Johnson will also direct his squad in theContinental Tire Las Vegas Classic. Early round games against Mississippi Valley State (Dec. 10) and Georgia Southern (Dec. 15) are at home beforeheading toVegas for two games, starting with BradleyDec. 22.Conference play begins Jan. 5 at Maryland.2012-13 Virginia Tech Mens Basketball non-conference schedule (home games in CAPS)Day Date Opponent Time Sat. Nov. 10 ETSU TBA Mon. Nov. 12 RHODE ISLAND TBAThurs. Nov. 15 VMI TBAMon. Nov. 19 at UNC Greensboro (Greensboro Coliseum) TBAFri. Nov. 23 APPALACHIAN STATE TBATue. Nov. 27 IOWA 7:15 p.m. (Big TenACC Challenge)

Sat. Dec. 1 OKLAHOMA STATE TBASat. Dec. 8 at West Virginia TBAMon. Dec. 10 MISSISSIPPI VALLEY STATE TBA Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic (Blacksburg, Va.)

Sat. Dec. 15 GEORGIA SOUTHERN TBA Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic (Blacksburg, Va.)Sat. Dec. 22 Bradley TBA (Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic, Las Vegas)

Sun. Dec. 23 Champ.Consolation TBA (Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic, Las Vegas)Sat. Dec. 29 BYU (Salt Lake City, Utah) TBASat. Jan. 5 at Maryland 12 p.m

Wed. Jan. 9 BOSTON COLLEGE 7 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 12 at Georgia Tech 2:30 p.m.

Sat. Jan. 19 WAKE FOREST 2 p.m.

Thur. Jan. 24 VIRGINIA 8 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 27 at Clemson 1 p.m.

Wed. Jan. 30 MIAMI 9 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 2 at North Carolina 12 p.m.

Thur. Feb. 7 MARYLAND 9 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 9 GEORGIA TECH 1 p.m.

Tue. Feb. 12 at Virginia 7 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 16 at NC State 2 p.m.

Thur. Feb. 21 DUKE 9 p.m.

Sun. Feb. 24 FLORIDA STATE 6 p.m.

Wed. Feb. 27 at Miami 7 p.m.

Sat. March 2 CLEMSON 8 p.m.

Tue. March 5 at Duke 7 p.m.

Sun. March 10 at Wake Forest 2 p.m.

March 14-17 ACC Tournament (Greensboro Coliseum, Greensboro, N.C.)

Lee Corso picks James Madison, scares a dog on set of College GameDay

dmhe9bkvwaaeuip.jpg
Twitter: @RedditCFB

Lee Corso picks James Madison, scares a dog on set of College GameDay

ESPN's College Gameday was in Harrisonburg, Va. on Saturday morning  to visit the reigning FCS National Champion and unbeaten James Madison Dukes (5-0) as they faced off against the Villanova Wildcats (4-2).

The special trip to JMU meant a special edition of the Gameday picks, featuring Lee Corso and his mascot headgear selection.

Not only did Corso have headgear to put on, but the set also had a special guest. 

That poor bulldog was terrified of Corso and wanted to do anything but sit on that desk with him in that mascot head.

It was a very good dog and just got scared. Totally understandable. 12/10 would save from falling off the desk.

Virginia Tech bounces back with 300 yard game by Josh Jackson

josh_jackson_vt_usat.jpg
USA Today Sports

Virginia Tech bounces back with 300 yard game by Josh Jackson

BOSTON -- Josh Jackson threw for 322 yards and a touchdown and No. 16 Virginia Tech bounced back from a loss to defending national champion Clemson to beat Boston College 23-10 on Saturday night.

Sean Savoy had nine catches for 139 yards and a score after No. 1 receiver Cam Phillips went out with an apparent leg injury in the first quarter. Savoy went 53 yards on a slant pattern to open the scoring midway through the first quarter, and the Hokies (5-1, 1-1 Atlantic Coast Conference) never trailed.

Travon McMillian ran 17 times for 88 yards, including a 23-yard touchdown that gave Virginia Tech a 17-3 lead midway through the second quarter. With 11 points -- three field goals and two extra points -- Joey Slye became the school's career scoring leader.

Anthony Brown completed 13 of 30 passes for 166 yards for BC (2-4, 0-2). He also caught a touchdown pass on a halfback option from former quarterback Jeff Smith to make it 23-10 with 5:38 left in the game.