49ers' Omenihu laments 'critical' missed call on Seahawks TD

Russell Wilson

The Seattle Seahawks were called for six penalties in their 30-23 win over the 49ers on Sunday, and San Francisco defensive end Charles Omenihu believes there should have been a seventh.

At the end of the first half, with the 49ers leading 23-14, Seattle had the ball at the 7-yard line. On first-and-goal, Russell Wilson stepped up into the pocket and hit Dee Eskridge for a touchdown. With the extra point, the Seahawks went to the locker room down 23-21.

But in the mind of Omenihu, the touchdown never should have happened because it appears he was blatantly held on the play.

The referees didn't throw a flag and Eskridge broke a tackle attempt by 49ers rookie Deommodore Lenoir to get into the end zone.

If a holding penalty had been called on the Seahawks, it would have set up a first-and-goal from the 17-yard line.

The Seahawks tied the game early in the third quarter on a safety when they sacked 49ers quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo in the end zone and then they took the lead for good later in the period on a touchdown pass from Wilson to wide receiver Tyler Lockett.

RELATED: Mostert, Twitter react to critical non-PI call

The 49ers can lament the missed holding call, but they had a 10-point lead early in the second quarter, and they had chances in the second half to beat the Seahawks, but too many mistakes cost them in Seattle on Sunday.