Athletics

A's scheduled to play more day games in ALDS vs. Astros

Athletics

MLB announced the start times in the AL Division Series between the A's and the Houston Astros on Monday, and Oakland likely won't be thrilled.

First pitch for Game 1 between the AL West rivals is scheduled for 1:07 p.m. PT Monday, and the other four games in the best-of-five also are set for daytime starts.

The games will be played at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles, a neutral site set forth by MLB protocols to have games held in the playoff “bubble.”

The early start times might seem fine, but all three AL Wild Card Series games between the A's and Chicago White Sox were Noon PT starts, and Oakland players and staff weren't happy about it.

A's manager Bob Melvin admitted he wasn't a fan, and said he was a bit cranky on the first day of the best-of-three series. Outfielder Ramón Laureano and reliever Jake Diekman echoed those sentiments but with more strong language.

Diekman called the start times "horse s--t," so MLB's latest announcement might draw the same reaction knowing it could be the same start times throughout the series.

The A's will serve as the home team in Game 1, Game 2 and Game 5, if it is necessary.

Game 1

When: Monday, Oct. 5, at 1:07 p.m. PT/4:07 p.m. ET

TV: TBS

Stream: Watch TBS

Game 2

When: Tuesday, Oct. 6, at 1:37 p.m. PT/4:37 p.m. ET

 

TV: TBS

Stream: Watch TBS

Game 3

When: Wednesday, Oct. 7, at 12:35 p.m. PT/3:35 p.m. ET

TV: TBS

Stream: Watch TBS

Game 4 (if necessary)

When: Thursday, Oct. 8, at 12:35 p.m. PT/3:35 p.m. ET

TV: TBS

Stream: Watch TBS

Game 5 (if necessary)

When: Friday, Oct. 9, at 12:35 p.m. PT/3:35 p.m. ET

TV: TBS

Stream: Watch TBS