Hope you love a weird play, because that’s what I’ve got for you.
In the top of the second inning of Wednesday’s Athletics-Arizona Diamondbacks game, A’s center fielder Mark Canha tripled on a fly ball to center and the A’s scored two runs. Well, kind of.
D-backs outfielder Ketel Marte made the catch, but as he slammed into the outfield wall, he dropped the ball. The play was challenged by Arizona because of how the play was made. The call on the field would stand and everyone on the A’s was safe.
But was it a catch?
The D-backs challenged that Marte had adequate continuation, arguing that the drop only occurred on the transfer.
The official MLB rule states that a fielder must hold the ball long enough to show he has complete control of the ball, and that his release of the ball is voluntary and intentional.
The replay officials in New York decided that wasn’t the case, meaning the original call was correct.
What do you think? Was it a catch?