Athletics

Presented By A'sPlayoffs2019
Athletics

For the second straight year, the A's will play in the AL Wild Card Game. But this time, they will be the hosts.

A year after losing to the Yankees in the one-game playoff, the A's will face another AL East team in the Tampa Bay Rays.

Oakland secured home-field advantage in the game Saturday when it beat the Seattle Mariners and Tampa Bay lost to the Toronto Blue Jays.

Should the A's beat the Rays on Wednesday at the Coliseum, they would advance to the AL Division Series to face the Houston Astros, who finished with the best record in baseball this season. The Twins and Yankees will face off in the other AL Division Series.

Here's how the A's postseason schedule could shake out (all times Pacific):

AL WILD CARD GAME: Rays at A's
Wednesday, Oct. 2: 5:09 p.m. PT at Oakland (TV: ESPN)

AL DIVISION SERIES: A'S-RAYS WINNER VS. ASTROS
Game 1: Friday, Oct. 4, time TBD, at Houston
Game 2: Saturday, Oct. 5, time TBD, at Houston
Game 3: Monday, Oct. 7, time TBD, at Oakland or Tampa Bay
Game 4: Tuesday, Oct. 8, time TBD, at Oakland or Tampa Bay (if necessary)
Game 5: Thursday, Oct. 10, time TBD, at Houston (if necessary)

 

AL CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES
Game 1: AL Lower Seed at AL Higher Seed on Saturday, Oct. 12, time TBD
Game 2: AL Lower Seed at AL Higher Seed on Sunday, Oct. 13, time TBD
Game 3: AL Higher Seed at AL Lower Seed on Tuesday, Oct. 15, time TBD
Game 4: AL Higher Seed at AL Lower Seed on Wednesday, Oct. 16, time TBD
Game 5: AL Higher Seed at AL Lower Seed on Thursday, Oct. 17, time TBD (if necessary)
Game 6: AL Lower Seed at AL Higher Seed on Saturday, Oct. 19, time TBD (if necessary)
Game 7: AL Lower Seed at AL Higher Seed on Sunday, Oct. 20, time TBD (if necessary)

WORLD SERIES
Game 1: Lower Seed at Higher Seed on Tuesday, Oct. 22, time TBD
Game 2: Lower Seed at Higher Seed on Wednesday, Oct. 23, time TBD
Game 3: Higher Seed at Lower Seed on Friday, Oct. 25, time TBD
Game 4: Higher Seed at Lower Seed on Saturday, Oct. 26, time TBD
Game 5: Higher Seed at Lower Seed on Sunday, Oct. 27, time TBD (if necessary)
Game 6: Lower Seed at Higher Seed on Tuesday, Oct. 29, time TBD (if necessary)
Game 7: Lower Seed at Higher Seed on Wednesday, Oct. 30, time TBD (if necessary)