Athletics

What Laureano told umpire when ejected on botched call

Athletics

Athletics center fielder Ramón Laureano was ejected from Wednesday night’s 4-1 win over the Boston Red Sox after he disagreed with a third-strike call in the top of the third inning. 

The inside called strike was way inside. So much so, the umpire scorecards that are used from MLB-released data from each pitch, acknowledged it.

“I just told him, ‘That was a ball way too inside, and [Jed] Lowrie’s was outside -- you can’t be covering the whole thing,’” Laureano told NBC Sports California on Thursday. “Obviously I threw my stuff and he rung me after that which I didn’t know until I saw Bob [Melvin] running and then yeah -- everyone saw what happened after.”

Laureano, ever the passionate player both on and off the field, isn’t quite sure where that fire comes from. It’s been happening for a while now.

“I mean, I’ve been getting tossed since I was about 11 ... or 12, something like that,” Laureano said.

Laureano worked hard in the offseason, asking Melvin questions about how to improve his game. He led a passionate speech to the A’s during Game 3 of the AL Division Series last season that lit a fire under the team to keep the series going. 

Melvin has said when Laureano is in the game, it’s impossible not to feel good about your chances at winning.

 
RELATED: Kaprielian's special night capped by support of late mom, dad

“It’s about winning, you know,” Laureano said. “[The passion] just comes out. But you have to know when. Sometimes you just can’t do that. There’s a billion times where you just can’t do that stuff.”

But when it does come out, however, it’s a game-changer.