Major League Soccer today announced that Earthquakes forward Chris Wondolowski and goalkeeper David Bingham are among 26 players named to the 2016 AT&T MLS All-Star Gameday Roster set to compete against Arsenal at Avaya Stadium in San Jose on Thursday, July 28.

The Earthquakes are one of six clubs, and one of just two in the Western Conference, to send multiple players to the annual event, and are the only club with two American-born All-Stars. Kickoff is scheduled for 4:30 p.m.

Wondolowski, 33, will be appearing in his fourth MLS All-Star Game, after being selected in three consecutive years from 2011-13.

Despite missing four games while competing with the United States National Team at Copa America Centenario, his seven goals this season currently rank tied for 10th among all players in the league and tied for second among all players with 15 or fewer games played.

Wondolowski has scored 116 career regular season goals, fourth most in Major League Soccer history, two U.S. Open Cup goals, one MLS Cup Playoff goal and one MLS All-Star goal, scored in 2012 against Chelsea FC.

Bingham, 26, has been selected to his first MLS All-Star Game. The Castro Valley-native currently ranks fifth in saves percentage (74.1%), tied for sixth in saves (60) and tied for ninth in shutouts (4) among all keepers in the league. Bingham holds a 23-20-15 career record with 16 shutouts.

His 16 shutouts since the start of last season are tied for the second most in the league over that timespan. He also recently earned his first cap with the U.S. National Team, keeping a clean sheet in a 1-0 victory over Canada in February.


The 26-man Gameday Roster is made up of 24 players chosen by Earthquakes and All-Star coach Dominic Kinnear, taking into consideration the All-Star Fan XI and player voting, and the two Commissioner's Picks.

The Gameday Roster includes representation from 19 MLS clubs and is a mix of 16 All-Star newcomers and 10 All-Star veterans.

All 11 players named to the All-Star Fan XI, nominated by media and selected by fans, were named to the Gameday Roster including: Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Kaká (Orlando City SC), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), and David Villa (New York City FC).

Joining the Fan XI are 13 additional league standouts: goalkeeper David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), defenders Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), midfielders Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), and forwards Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes) and Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC).

Rounding out the roster are the two Commissioner's Picks, midfielders Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas) and Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake).

2016 MLS All-Star Game Roster by Position

Goalkeeper: David Bingham (San Jose Earthquakes), Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), Laurent Ciman (Montreal Impact), Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution), Liam Ridgewell (Portland Timbers), Keegan Rosenberry (Philadelphia Union), Brandon Vincent (Chicago Fire), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Midfielders: Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Mauro Diaz (FC Dallas), Giovani dos Santos (LA Galaxy), Jermaine Jones (Colorado Rapids),  Kaká (Orlando City SC), Sacha Kljestan (New York Red Bulls), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Andrea Pirlo (New York City FC), Wil Trapp (Columbus Crew SC)

Forwards: Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact), Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC), Cyle Larin (Orlando City SC), Ignacio Piatti (Montreal Impact), David Villa (New York City FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

San Jose Earthquakes Media Services