MLB's new rules against foreign substances have created quite a stir this week, with Max Scherzer and Sergio Romo among those who have demonstratively expressed displeasure with the proceedings.
But not Shohei Ohtani.
The Los Angeles Angels' two-way star, who is pitching and batting second in the lineup Wednesday vs. the Giants, didn't pull a Scherzer or Romo. He kept his pants on, was visibly smiling and didn't have any issues with the new rules when umpires randomly checked his hat, glove and belt for a possible foreign substance after he finished the second inning.
This occurred just moments after Ohtani made an amusing, forgetful mistake on the mound.
Ohtani grounded out off a Kevin Gausman splitter in his first at-bat. It was the top half of the second inning where his memory let him down a bit.
During his warmup pitches, Ohtani realized he had an extra glove with him on the mound. Or in this case, extra gloves. Batting gloves to be specific. The Angels' ace had to reach into his back pocket, get rid of his two white batting gloves and get back to being a star on the bump.
Ohtani then struck out the side in the top of the second inning, getting Donovan Solano and Mauricio Dubon to whiff and Mike Tauchman to sit down watching.
Ohtani is making MLB history Wednesday against the Giants. As he pitches and hits for himself, this is the first time ever an NL team will have a DH while an AL team doesn't.