Marc-Andre Fleury current favorite to win 2021 Conn Smythe


The 2021 NHL playoffs are halfway over and just four teams remain in the hunt for the Stanley Cup -- Tampa Bay Lightning, New York Islanders, Vegas Golden Knights and Montreal Canadiens. With the Stanley Cup Finals nearing, the Conn Smythe Trophy talk has ramped up, and someone will be taking home the trophy for playoff MVP in the near future. Here are the latest odds for who will win Smythe Trophy.

What is the Conn Smythe Trophy?

The Conn Smythe Trophy is awarded to the player who is determined to be most valuable to their team during the playoffs. That player is usually a member of the team that wins the Stanley Cup. The award was established in 1965 and has been handed out to 47 different players. The Professional Hockey Writers Association selects the winner after the completion of the Stanley Cup Finals. 

Who is the favorite to win the 2021 Conn Smythe Trophy?

Some of the favorites from before the postseason began still remain, while new names have appeared with much better odds than before.

Here are the latest odds for the winner of the Conn Smythe trophy, presented by PointsBet:  

  • Marc-Andre Fleury +155
  • Andrei Vasilevskiy +300
  • Semyon Varlamov +450
  • Mark Stone +800
  • Carey Price +1100
  • Nikita Kucherov +1200
  • Brayden Point +1600
  • Max Pacioretty +1700
  • Mathew Barzal +2500
  • Jean-Gabriel Pageau +2500
  • Jonathan Marchessault +2500
  • William Karlsson +2500

Who has won the Conn Smythe Trophy in the past?

As mentioned, the trophy is typically given to a player on the winning team. However, there have been five times where a member of the losing team has been awarded the trophy. It has not happened since 2003, when goaltender Jean-Sebastien Giguere of the Anaheim Ducks was awarded the trophy despite the Ducks losing to the New Jersey Devils. 


There also have been six players who have won the award multiple times. The most recent is Sidney Crosby, who won the award in back-to-back years in 2016 and 2017. Crosby is among five players who have won the award twice, while goaltender Patrick Roy is the only player to win the trophy three times. 

Here are the most recent winners of the Conn Smythe Trophy:

  • 2020: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2019: Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues
  • 2018: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2017: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2016: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

Editor's note: All odds are provided by our partner, PointsBet. PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.