On Tuesday morning, the NBA announced that Atlanta's Mike Budenholzer was the recipient of the Red Auerbach Trophy as the 2014-15 NBA Coach of the Year.

Of the 130 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada who voted, five didn't include Kerr in their Top 3:

1) Tom Heinsohn, Celtics analyst for Comcast SportsNet New England -- Mike Budenholzer, Brad Stevens, Jason Kidd
2) Phil Chenier, Wizards analyst for Comcast SportsNet Washington -- Mike Budenholzer, Jason Kidd, Doc Rivers
3) Neil Funk, Bulls play-by-play for Comcast SportsNet Chicago -- Mike Budenholzer, Brad Stevens, Jeff Hornacek 
4) Malik Rose, 76ers analyst for Comcast SportsNet Philadelphia -- Mike Budenholzer, Tom Thibodeau, Dwane Casey 
5) Gary Washburn, NBA writer for The Boston Globe -- Mike Budenholzer, Jason Kidd, Brad Stevens 

[POOLE: Kerr snubbed in Coach of the Year voting]

Budenholzer received 67 first-place votes and 513 total points.

Kerr finished second with 56 first-place votes and 471 total points.

Jason Kidd of the Milwaukee Bucks was third with one first-place vote and 57 total points.

Coaches were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

"I know that you probably won't believe me when I say this, but I'm actually really glad Mike won," Kerr told reporters. "I mean that, for him, personally, because he's a great friend of mine and I think he's done an incredible job. He's been doing this for 20 years. I learned a lot from him as a player.


"I just got into this gig. It would have felt really weird to win that award when this team has had so much success and was already really good last year, before I got here. I'm just happy it worked out the way it did."

In 2013-14, the Warriors won 51 games under Mark Jackson.

This year, Golden State went 67-15, becoming the 10th team in NBA history to win at least 67 games.

The 16-game improvement was the most in league history for a team that won at least 50 games the previous season.

The Warriors won their games by an average of 10.1 points -- the eighth team to ever finish the year with a +10.0 or better win-differential (six of the previous seven won the NBA title).

Complete voting results