Steph Curry remains atop 2022 NBA MVP race


The quest for the NBA title is well underway as the 2021-22 season heads toward Christmas. However, that’s not the only hardware players are eyeing.

The NBA MVP award is always a hot topic in the basketball world, and it’s never too early to get the conversation rolling. 

Nikola Jokic won the MVP last season after a sensational season with the Denver Nuggets. But who will it be this season?

Here is a look at the favorites to win the honor. 

Who is the favorite to win the NBA MVP?

The current favorite is someone who is familiar with the MVP trophy.

Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry, a two-time recipient, is the leader for the award, according to our partner, PointsBet. Curry previously won the honor in 2015 and 2016. 


Kevin Durant of the Brooklyn Nets sits second, while Milwaukee Bucks forward Giannis Antetokounmpo, who entered the season as the favorite, is currently third. 

Here are the players with the highest odds to win the MVP:

Steph Curry +140

Kevin Durant +260

Giannis Antetokounmpo +650

Nikola Jokic +1000

Luka Doncic +2500

Joel Embiid +3000

Jimmy Butler +3300

Trae Young +5000

James Harden +5000

Donovan Mitchell +5000

Paul George +5000

LeBron James +6000

Rudy Gobert +6000

You can find all of the odds for MVP here

Who are the most recent winners of the MVP?

As previously mentioned, Jokic won the award last season, while Antetokounmpo won it the two years prior. 

Here’s a look at some of the most recent winners of the MVP. 

2021: Nikola Jokic

2020: Giannis Antetokounmpo

2019: Giannis Antetokounmpo

2018: James Harden

2017: Russell Westbrook

2016: Steph Curry

2015: Steph Curry

2014: Kevin Durant

2013: LeBron James


2012: LeBron James

Who has won the MVP the most in NBA history?

Since the award was created in 1955, there have been a number of multi-time winners of the MVP. 

Kareem-Abdul Jabbar has won it the most times, three with the Milwaukee Bucks and three with the Los Angeles Lakers for a total of six. 

Both Michael Jordan and Bill Russell have won the award five times. Wilt Chamberlain and LeBron James each have taken home the trophy four times in their careers. 

Three players have been awarded the MVP three times -- Moses Malone, Larry Bird and Magic Johnson. There are a total of six players who have won the award twice, which includes Antetokounmpo, Curry, Tim Duncan, Steve Nash, Bob Pettit and Karl Malone. 

Editor's note: All odds are provided by our partner, PointsBet. PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links.