Warriors

Chriss calls out NBA officials after Draymond ejection

Warriors

Just about everyone was confused by the second technical foul called on Warriors forward Draymond Green late in the first half of Thursday night's loss to the New York Knicks, leading to Green's ejection from the contest.

Warriors center Marquese Chriss was among them, calling on NBA officials to "do better."

Green was yelling at Warriors rookie James Wiseman, but crew chief Ben Taylor told NBC Sports Bay Area's Monte Poole after the game that Green's second technical was "profanity that was deemed to be directed at the official.”

Download and subscribe to the Dubs Talk Podcast

Warriors coach Steve Kerr indicated that he was told by an official that the call was a mistake as the teams went to the locker room at halftime, but Taylor said the game officials did not consider rescinding the call despite the explanation from the Warriors.

"At halftime, Ben Taylor came out and told me that it was a mistake, that John Butler didn't realize Draymond was yelling at his teammate," Kerr told reporters on a video call after the game. "He thought he was yelling at him."

Green was stunned by the call following the game, and believes the rules should be re-examined on rescinding technical fouls.

RELATED: Warriors' undisciplined defense costs them against Knicks

"I'm just a bit confused," Green told The Undefeated's Marc J. Spears. "Officials can meet and make a decision on any call throughout the game, but when it comes to a technical foul that was clearly wrong due to an official assuming I was talking to him when in fact I wasn't, that can't be overturned? Maybe it's time to take a look at that rule. I would love clarity on why that's a rule, if in fact it is a rule."

 

The Warriors went into halftime trailing by six, but Green's absence took its toll down the stretch of the second half, as the Knicks pushed their lead out in the fourth quarter and came away with a 119-104 win at Chase Center.

Green has a history of arguing with officials, but this seemed to be a questionable call at best by the refs.