Programming note: Watch the pregame edition of Warriors Outsiders on Saturday afternoon at 4:30, streaming live on the MyTeams app.
The film has been reviewed and the results are in.
Andre Iguodala did not foul Damian Lillard in the closing seconds of the Warriors' Game 2 win over the Blazers in the Westeren Conference finals, according to the NBA's Last Two Minute Report.
The explanation states:
"Iguodala (GSW) makes marginal contact with Lillard (POR) on the perimeter before cleanly stripping the ball."
Iggy secures the win with some 🔒 down defense pic.twitter.com/LflfWf3i2Z— Warriors on NBCS (@NBCSWarriors) May 17, 2019
Andre Iguodala is underpaid at $16 million per year pic.twitter.com/zIz4PNrzlS— Drew Shiller (@DrewShiller) May 17, 2019
Iguodala (looking at his hands) to Boogie after his game ending steal: “AY THESE MOTHAF*CKAS IS CRAZY” 🤣🤣🤣 pic.twitter.com/3MdoJGE8ya— TheWarriorsTalk (@TheWarriorsTalk) May 17, 2019
Additionally, Klay Thompson fouled Lillard with about 10 seconds left because Golden State had a foul to give. The report says that Dame got away with a travel seconds before the foul:
"[Observable in enhanced video] Lillard (POR) switches his pivot foot before the release of his dribble."
So in theory, Dame should have never been in position to think that he was fouled by Iguodala with 4.1 seconds remaining.
"I know it's a tough position for the referees to be in to make a call at that point in the game," he said to reporters after the game. "Tried to get a little bit of space the first time. He grabbed my arm, and I lost the ball a little bit. I regained it, and I was going to shoot it again. He got his hand on the ball.
"For me, as the offensive player, I felt like it was contact. There was a lot of contact. But obviously, the ref is not going to decide the game or jump in at that point. You know, so ... good defensive play."
If you're new to this space, let us remind you about a story on Iguodala from June 2018 from Marcus Thompson of The Athletic:
He said last season a referee came up to him out of the blue and apologized. The referee said he watched film on Iguodala and found about four calls when he whistled Iguodala for a foul.
But the film showed Iguodala got all ball. The ref was a convert. He believed in Iguodala’s magic.
“He said, ‘I went back and looked at them. None of them was fouls,'” Iguodala said. “I was like, ‘I know!’ Every time I see him now, he is laughing. He knows I don’t be fouling.”
If you aren't a convert yet, then we can't help you.