Bruins

Bruins release regular-season schedule

Bruins release regular-season schedule

The Boston Bruins' schedule is set after the NHL released the 2018-19 regular season schedule on Thursday. Boston opens the season in Washington to take on the defending champion Capitals on October 3rd, and have their home opener against Ottawa on October 8th. 

Boston and the Chicago Blackhawks were announced as the opponents for the 2019 Winter Classic, which takes place on New Year's Day. 

The Bruins are coming off a 4-1 series loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning in the Eastern Conference Semifinals, who they will meet again for the first time on December 6th. 

Other key games include an early season back-to-back at home against the Toronto Maple Leafs and Vegas Golden Nights on November 10th and 11th. 

The full schedule can be found below.

OCTOBER:

Wednesday, October 3 @ Washington, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 4 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Monday, October 8 vs. Ottawa, 1 p.m.

Thursday, October 11 vs. Edmonton, 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 13 vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, October 17 @ Calgary, 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 18 @ Edmonton, 9 p.m.

Saturday, October 20 @ Vancouver, 10 p.m.

Tuesday, October 23 @ Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 25 vs. Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 27 vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, October 30 at Carolina, 7 p.m.

NOVEMBER:

Saturday, November 3 @ Nashville, 8 p.m.

Monday, November 5 vs. Dallas, 7 p.m.

Thursday, November 8 vs. Vancouver, 7 p.m.

Saturday, November 10 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Sunday, November 11 vs. Las Vegas, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, November 14 @ Colorado, 10 p.m.

Friday, November 16 @ Dallas, 8 p.m.

Saturday, November 17 @ Arizona, 8 p.m.

Wednesday, November 21 @ Detroit, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, November 23 vs. Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 24 @ Montreal, 7 p.m.

Monday, November 26 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.

Thursday, November 29 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

DECEMBER:

Saturday, December 1 vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, December 4 @ Florida, 7 p.m.

Thursday, December 6 @ Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 8 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Sunday, December 9 @ Ottawa, 5 p.m.

Tuesday, December 11 vs. Arizona, 7 p.m.

Friday, December 14 @ Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.

Sunday, December 16 vs. Buffalo, 5 p.m.

Monday, December 17 @ Montreal, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, December 20 vs. Anaheim, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 22 vs. Nashville, 1 p.m.

Sunday, December 23 @ Carolina, 5 p.m.

Thursday, December 27 vs. New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 29 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.

JANUARY:

Tuesday, January 1 @ Chicago, 2 p.m.

Thursday, January 3 vs. Calgary, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 5 vs. Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, January 8 vs. Minnesota, 7 p.m.

Thursday, January 10 vs. Washington, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 12 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.

Monday, January 14 vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, January 16 @ Philadelphia, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 17 vs. St. Louis, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 19 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, January 29 vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

Thursday, January 31 vs. Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

FEBRUARY:

Sunday, February 3 @ Washington, 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 5 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, February 6 @ N.Y. Rangers, 8 p.m.

Saturday, February 9 vs. Los Angeles, 1 p.m.

Sunday, February 10 vs. Colorado, 3 p.m.

Tuesday, February 12 vs. Chicago, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 15 @ Anaheim, 10 p.m.

Saturday, February 16 @ Los Angeles, 10:30 p.m.

Monday, February 18 @ San Jose, 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 20 @ Vegas, 10 p.m.

Saturday, February 23 @ St. Louis, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, February 26 vs. San Jose, 7 p.m.

Thursday, February 28 vs. Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.

MARCH:

Saturday, March 2 vs. New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5 vs. Carolina, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 7 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 9 vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Sunday, March 10 @ Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 12 @ Columbus, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 14 @ Winnipeg, 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 16 vs. Columbus, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 19 @ N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 21 @ New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 23 @ Florida, 7 p.m.

Monday, March 25 @ Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 30 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.

Sunday, March 31 @ Detroit, 7:30 p.m.

APRIL:

Tuesday, April 2 @ Columbus, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 4 @ Minnesota, 8 p.m.

Saturday, April 6 vs. Tampa Bay, 12:30 p.m.

NBC SPORTS BOSTON SCHEDULE

Breakfast Pod: Bruins moving on after Game 7 win over Toronto

Breakfast Pod: Bruins moving on after Game 7 win over Toronto

A big Game 7 win for the Bruins sends them on to another round of the Stanley Cup playoffs while the Celtics continue to prepare for the Bucks in their series and the Red Sox take two steps back again.

1:17 - The Bruins will head on to play the Columbus Blue Jackets in the second round of the Stanley Cup playoffs after taking down the Maple Leafs in Game 7. Michael Felger and Tony Amonte give their instant reactions to the win.

6:08 - Trenni Kusnierek and Kyle Draper discuss how the Celtics have appeared to re-establish their team chemistry after their sweep of the Pacers and how that will benefit them going forward.

8:44 - The Red Sox dropped both games of their doubleheader vs. the Tigers and despite Chris Sale saying he feels better, John Tomase isn’t exactly thrilled about where the Sox’ ace and the rest of the team stand. 

LISTEN AND SUBSCRIBE HERE:

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.

Bruins depth finally comes through in a massive bottom-6 night in Game 7

Bruins depth finally comes through in a massive bottom-6 night in Game 7

BOSTON – For the past two playoff series between the Bruins and the Maple Leafs, it always proved true that the B's needed offense from Patrice Bergeron, Brad Marchand and David Pastrnak if they expected to win. So, it stood to reason that the B’s would again need offense from their big three on Tuesday night in Game 7 if they expected to eliminate the Maple Leafs and advance to the second round.

But that trend came to a definitive stop with a 5-1 win over the Maple Leafs where the third and fourth lines ruled the day for the Black and Gold and finally made Toronto pay for the absence of suspended center Nazem Kadri. Joakim Nordstrom and Sean Kuraly kicked in goals from the fourth line, Marcus Johansson provided the eventual game-winner in the first period and Charlie Coyle got an empty-netter late in the third period.

“We have four lines that can contribute, that’s one of the strengths of this team,” said Johansson, who scored his first goal of the series at the biggest time in Game 7 on a curl toward the net after stealing a puck from Jake Gardiner behind the Leafs net. “Everyone’s ready to go and everyone is doing what it takes, and we’ve got a lot of guys who can score and score big goals.”

So, it wasn’t about the star players for the Bruins in the most important game in the series, it was instead about the role players stepping up to be Stanley Cup playoff heroes in Boston’s time of need.

“You rely on everyone in the playoffs and that’s how teams are advancing and I thought tonight was a perfect example,” said Bergeron. “Everyone’s got a job to do and obviously contributing offensively is great and you take away those goals, even though I thought they were in their zone for most of the night creating some momentum for us and got things rolling basically.

“I think [our depth] kind of creates some problems as far as matchups and stuff for other teams. But, you’re playing some good teams also and teams that have also that same depth. But I think it’s always about outworking and finding ways to compete and try to beat the matchup that you’re up against. And you don’t have to rely all the time on the perfect matchup because you know you have the confidence in all the lines that are jumping over the boards; it makes a big difference.”

Sure, Bergeron also picked up a meaningless empty-net goal in the final second of the third period, but Game 7 was effectively won by Boston’s bottom-6 forwards. That’s a far cry from a fourth line that struggled at the beginning of the series without the injured Kuraly, and a third line that was pretty much nonexistent all season until Coyle arrived at the trade deadline.

Certainly, the goals from Coyle and Johansson highlighted the trade deadline moves engineered by Don Sweeney a few months ago, and it also underscored Bruce Cassidy’s decision to ice a speedier lineup vs. Toronto while scratching Chris Wagner and David Backes.

“We talked about it at the start of the series that we felt we needed a certain type of lineup to beat Toronto, and we finally found it late in the series. I thought Game 6 and 7 we skated well. A guy like [Joakim] Nordstrom is a good part of that, [Karson] Kuhlman, [Sean] Kuraly obviously,” said Cassidy. “The odd thing about this series for us is we actually got healthier as the series went on. Usually, in the playoffs it’s the opposite, so for us to get guys back, John Moore, [Marcus] Johansson was the other one who got hurt, [Sean] Kuraly, I think helped us a lot.

“Donny [General Manager Don Sweeney] has done a great job with depth, so we know we can use different players because of injuries.”

The Bruins will again need that depth beginning Thursday night against the Columbus Blue Jackets, a team clearly more well-rounded than the dangerously skilled Maple Leafs. So, it’s a good thing they got rolling at exactly the right time in the series and powered the B’s to a massive Game 7 win. 

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.