Hellebuyck edges out Rask for Vezina Trophy

USA TODAY Sports photo

Tuukka Rask was outstanding for the Boston Bruins during the 2019-20 regular season, but he was not voted as the NHL's best goaltender.

That honor went to Connor Hellebuyck of the Winnipeg Jets, who edged out Rask and Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning for the 2020 Vezina Trophy.

Hellebuyck received 19 first-place votes and totaled 123 voting points. Rask placed second, with 10 first-place votes and 99 points.

Hellebuyck certainly is a deserving winner of the prestigious award. The Jets netminder went 31-21-5 during the season with six shutouts, a .922 save percentage and a 2.57 goals-against average.

Rask had a 26-8-6 record with a league-best 2.12 GAA during the regular season, helping the Bruins on their road to the Presidents' Trophy. He opted out of the NHL's Toronto bubble during the B's first-round playoff series vs. the Carolina Hurricanes due to a family emergency.

Rask won his lone Vezina Trophy following the 2013-14 season.