The NHL regular season midpoint is a natural time to take a peek at the candidates for the NHL Awards, and that’s exactly what the PHWA (Professional Hockey Writers Association) does with their Midseason NHL Awards timed to come out at All-Star weekend.

The first-place Bruins are well-represented, as Boston’s lone All-Star player representative David Pastrnak has been named one of three finalists for the Hart Trophy at the halfway mark.

The 23-year-old Pastrnak leads all players with 37 goals scored in 51 games played for the Bruins at the break and is fourth in the NHL with 70 points while on pace for 60 goals and 114 points this season.

LIVE stream the Celtics all season and get the latest news and analysis on all of your teams from NBC Sports Boston by downloading the My Teams App.

While Patrice Bergeron has missed time with injuries and Brad Marchand went ice cold in much of December and January, Pastrnak has been the constant game-breaker and power play weapon who, at times, has been the one thing pulling the Bruins through some of the tough times. Pastrnak was one of three players on the midseason Hart Trophy list along with Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Colorado’s Nathan MacKinnon in some very select company.

The Bruins were also represented on the Selke trophy midseason ballot as Patrice Bergeron was one of three finalists for the award for best defensive player, an award that No. 37 has already won four times in his esteemed NHL career.

Bergeron is winning 58.3 percent of his faceoffs while ranking fourth in the NHL with 550 draw wins overall and has posted 21 goals and 41 points in 42 games along with a plus-15 rating. Bergeron was named a Selke Trophy midseason finalist along with Philadelphia’s Sean Couturier and St. Louis center Ryan O’Reilly, a trio of names who are no strangers to being considered for the league’s top defensive award.


Here are the full results for the PHWA Midseason NHL Awards with 117 writers from all 32 NHL chapters participating who will also be voting on the genuine NHL Awards ballot at the end of the season. So it's a pretty good indicator both Pastrnak and Bergeron could be finalists at the end of the season as well:

Hart Trophy — to the player adjudged to be most valuable to his team.

  • 1. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers
  • 2. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
  • 3. David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins

Norris Trophy — to the defenseman who demonstrates the greatest all-round ability in the position.

  • 1. John Carlson, Washington Capitals
  • 2. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators
  • 3. Dougie Hamilton, Carolina Hurricanes

Selke Trophy — to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

  • 1. Sean Couturier, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 2. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins
  • 3. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

Calder Trophy — to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition.

  • 1. Cale Makar, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2. Quinn Hughes, Vancouver Canucks
  • 3. Victor Olofsson, Buffalo Sabres

Lady Byng Trophy — to the player adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.

  • 1. Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2. Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 3. Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

Vezina Trophy — to the goaltender adjudged to be the best at his position.

  • 1. Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets
  • 2. Ben Bishop, Dallas Stars
  • 3. Darcy Kuemper, Arizona Coyotes

Jack Adams Award — to the coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success.

  • 1. Mike Sullivan, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2. John Tortorella, Columbus Blue Jackets
  • 3. Craig Berube, St. Louis Blues

Jim Gregory GM of the Year Award — to the General Manager adjusted to have contributed most to his team's success.

  • 1. Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2. John Chayka, Arizona Coyotes
  • 3. Doug Armstrong, St. Louis Blues

Rod Langway Award — to the defenseman who best excels in the defensive aspect of the game.

  • 1. Jaccob Slavin, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2. Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 3. Roman Josi, Nashville Predators

Comeback Player of the Year Award — to the player who returned to a previous high level of performance that was interrupted by subpar play, long-term injury or major illness.

  • 1. William Nylander, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 2. Anthony Duclair, Ottawa Senators
  • 3. Max Pacioretty, Vegas Golden Knights