Here are the top 25 NHL goal leaders of all time

Alex Ovechkin

The Great 8 is moving in on the Great One. 

Alex Ovechkin is now just a few healthy and productive seasons away from surpassing Wayne Gretzky’s all-time scoring record of 894 goals, long believed to be unbreakable.  

The Washington Capitals star, having scored 50 goals last season, enters the 2022-2023 campaign third all-time with 780 goals. 

The 37-year-old Ovechkin is expected to become the third member of the NHL’s highly-exclusive 800-club this season and pass the legendary Gordie Howe, who is second in league history with 801 goals.  

Ovechkin signed a five-year contract with the Capitals in 2021, so as long as Ovi continues to produce goals at the clip he has been, there very well could be a new No. 1 all-time goal leader in the NHL in the next three or four seasons. 

Ovechkin, with the ninth 50-plus goal season of his career last year, passed Brett Hull (741) and Jaromir Jagr (766). He will look to continue his climb up the NHL’s all-time scoring leaders list when the Capitals open their season on Oct. 12 against the Boston Bruins.  

Who are the NHL’s all-time goal leaders?

Ovechkin is now the only active NHLer who is in the top 25 in all-time goals. 

San Jose Sharks star Patrick Marleau announced his retirement in May, finishing No. 23 on the scoring list with 566 goals.    


The next active player on the list is Pittsburgh Penguins star Sidney Crosby, who sits at No. 39 with 517 goals.  

Here’s a look at the top 25 goal scorers of all time:

1. Wayne Gretzky: 894

2. Alex Ovechkin: 780

3. Gordie Howe: 801

4. Jaromir Jagr: 766

5. Brett Hull: 741

6. Marcel Dionne: 731

7. Phil Esposito: 717

8. Mike Gartner: 708

9. Mark Messier: 694

10. Steve Yzerman: 692

11. Mario Lemieux: 690

12. Teemu Selanne: 684

13. Luc Robitaille: 668

14. Brendan Shanahan: 656

15. Dave Andreychuk: 640

16. Joe Sakic: 625

17. Jarome Iginla: 625

18. Bobby Hull: 610

19. Dino Ciccarelli: 608

20. Jari Kurri: 601

21. Mark Recchi: 577

22. Mike Bossy: 573

23. Patrick Marleau: 566

24. Joe Nieuwendyk: 564

25. Mats Sundin: 564