Bruins

Morning Skate: Let the octopi fly in Detroit?

detroit-red-wings-octopus-101217.jpg

Morning Skate: Let the octopi fly in Detroit?

Here are all the links from around the hockey world, and what I’m reading, while it’s officially hockey season now that Bruins fans want everybody benched or sent to Providence after just three games.

*I’ve got to stay I hate the idea of the Red Wings banning diehard fans from their brand new arena for attempting to keep Detroit traditions alive. Is throwing an octopus on the ice inappropriate, or a relic from a bygone time? Maybe on some very PETA-ish level, but it’s also not hurting anybody except for the bank account of the fan that spent money at the fish market on the octopus in the first place. This feels more like a good way to alienate some of your hardcore fans.  

*Winnipeg Jets coach Paul Maurice has no problem with his injured Jets players going fishing even if they can’t play in games right now.

*It’s pregame warmups, where a kid can be a kid…right David Pastrnak?

*Down Goes Brown has 10 things that we’ve learned so far in the NHL season just a week into the game action.

*Smaller defensemen are finally starting to get their due in the NHL after talent evaluators would avoid them in the old days.

*Sixty years ago today former Bruins trailblazer Willie O’Ree became the first AHL player to break the color barrier. It’s great to see O’Ree still around today serving as one of hockey’s great ambassadors to the players of tomorrow.

*For something completely different: Love hearing FOH (Friend of Haggs) Taylor Twellman going off on the US men’s soccer team after a weak loss to Trinidad and Tobago that keeps them out of the World Cup. Oof.

 

NHL releases 2018-19 regular season schedule

NHL releases 2018-19 regular season schedule

The Boston Bruins' schedule is set after the NHL released the 2018-19 regular season schedule on Thursday. Boston opens the season in Washington to take on the defending champion Capitals on October 3rd, and have their home opener against Ottawa on October 8th. 

Boston and the Chicago Blackhawks were announced as the opponents for the 2019 Winter Classic, which takes place on New Year's Day. 

The Bruins are coming off a 4-1 series loss to the Tampa Bay Lightning in the Eastern Conference Semifinals, who they will meet again for the first time on December 6th. 

Other key games include an early season back-to-back at home against the Toronto Maple Leafs and Vegas Golden Nights on November 10th and 11th. 

The full schedule can be found below.

OCTOBER:

Wednesday, October 3 @ Washington, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 4 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Monday, October 8 vs. Ottawa, 1 p.m.

Thursday, October 11 vs. Edmonton, 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 13 vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, October 17 @ Calgary, 9:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 18 @ Edmonton, 9 p.m.

Saturday, October 20 @ Vancouver, 10 p.m.

Tuesday, October 23 @ Ottawa, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, October 25 vs. Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 27 vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, October 30 at Carolina, 7 p.m.

NOVEMBER:

Saturday, November 3 @ Nashville, 8 p.m.

Monday, November 5 vs. Dallas, 7 p.m.

Thursday, November 8 vs. Vancouver, 7 p.m.

Saturday, November 10 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Sunday, November 11 vs. Las Vegas, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, November 14 @ Colorado, 10 p.m.

Friday, November 16 @ Dallas, 8 p.m.

Saturday, November 17 @ Arizona, 8 p.m.

Wednesday, November 21 @ Detroit, 7:30 p.m.

Friday, November 23 vs. Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, November 24 @ Montreal, 7 p.m.

Monday, November 26 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.

Thursday, November 29 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

DECEMBER:

Saturday, December 1 vs. Detroit, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, December 4 @ Florida, 7 p.m.

Thursday, December 6 @ Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, December 8 vs. Toronto, 7 p.m.

Sunday, December 9 @ Ottawa, 5 p.m.

Tuesday, December 11 vs. Arizona, 7 p.m.

Friday, December 14 @ Pittsburgh, 7 p.m.

Sunday, December 16 vs. Buffalo, 5 p.m.

Monday, December 17 @ Montreal, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, December 20 vs. Anaheim, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 22 vs. Nashville, 1 p.m.

Sunday, December 23 @ Carolina, 5 p.m.

Thursday, December 27 vs. New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Saturday, December 29 @ Buffalo, 7 p.m.

JANUARY:

Tuesday, January 1 @ Chicago, 2 p.m.

Thursday, January 3 vs. Calgary, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 5 vs. Buffalo, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, January 8 vs. Minnesota, 7 p.m.

Thursday, January 10 vs. Washington, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 12 @ Toronto, 7 p.m.

Monday, January 14 vs. Montreal, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, January 16 @ Philadelphia, 7:30 p.m.

Thursday, January 17 vs. St. Louis, 7 p.m.

Saturday, January 19 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, January 29 vs. Winnipeg, 7 p.m.

Thursday, January 31 vs. Philadelphia, 7 p.m.

FEBRUARY:

Sunday, February 3 @ Washington, 12:30 p.m.

Tuesday, February 5 vs. N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, February 6 @ N.Y. Rangers, 8 p.m.

Saturday, February 9 vs. Los Angeles, 1 p.m.

Sunday, February 10 vs. Colorado, 3 p.m.

Tuesday, February 12 vs. Chicago, 7 p.m.

Friday, February 15 @ Anaheim, 10 p.m.

Saturday, February 16 @ Los Angeles, 10:30 p.m.

Monday, February 18 @ San Jose, 10:30 p.m.

Wednesday, February 20 @ Vegas, 10 p.m.

Saturday, February 23 @ St. Louis, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, February 26 vs. San Jose, 7 p.m.

Thursday, February 28 vs. Tampa Bay, 7 p.m.

MARCH:

Saturday, March 2 vs. New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 5 vs. Carolina, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 7 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 9 vs. Ottawa, 7 p.m.

Sunday, March 10 @ Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 12 @ Columbus, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 14 @ Winnipeg, 8 p.m.

Saturday, March 16 vs. Columbus, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, March 19 @ N.Y. Islanders, 7 p.m.

Thursday, March 21 @ New Jersey, 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 23 @ Florida, 7 p.m.

Monday, March 25 @ Tampa Bay, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, March 27 vs. N.Y. Rangers, 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, March 30 vs. Florida, 7 p.m.

Sunday, March 31 @ Detroit, 7:30 p.m.

APRIL:

Tuesday, April 2 @ Columbus, 7 p.m.

Thursday, April 4 @ Minnesota, 8 p.m.

Saturday, April 6 vs. Tampa Bay, 12:30 p.m.

NBC SPORTS BOSTON SCHEDULE

Haggerty: Bruins should pass on trading for Wayne Simmonds

philadelphia-flyers-wayne-simmonds-51718.jpg
File photo

Haggerty: Bruins should pass on trading for Wayne Simmonds

DALLAS -- Interesting times for the Bruins as they head into NHL Draft weekend here, as a number of names have been bandied about as possibilities,. Things are fluid right now as far as targets and potential strategies go, what with the draft being held this weekend and free agency opening on July 1. 

One name that has popped up in recent days is Flyers power forward Wayne Simmonds, who is entering the final year of his contract at age 29. Simmonds was mentioned as a possible target by NBC Sports Boston way back in May, and has been kicked up in the last few days with The Athletic’s Michael Russo mentioning him as possible trade bait for the Minnesota Wild. 

MORE BRUINS

In a vacuum, Simmonds would be a terrific second-line fit for Boston. Despite battling injuries that culminated with him undergoing hip surgery, Simmonds scored 24 goals and 46 points last year. Just a couple of seasons ago he put up 32 goals and 60 points. At his best, the 6-foot-2, 183-pounder is a prototypical power forward capable of scoring goals around the net, throwing big hits and dropping the gloves with a ferocious level of intimidation when the situation calls for it. 

He’s very much in the mold of Milan Lucic, Nathan Horton and Jarome Iginla as the kind of power winger that’s been very good with David Krejci in the past, and would make the Bruins a little tougher and much harder to play against. 

So, clearly, as a player Simmonds would be “a great addition” for the Bruins, as Bruce Cassidy said about Ilya Kovalchuk, with all things being equal. 

Here’s the rub: The cost is going to be considerable for Simmonds. The Bruins will have to give up significant assets to get a full year of Simmonds ahead of his free-agent walk year, and then they’d need to pay up again to sign him to a big contract extension at some point next season.

Certainly the B’s would feel beholden to sign Simmonds if they gave up blue-chip prospects and draft picks to land him.

As with most trade discussions over the last year, Jake DeBrusk is a name that's been an ask from other team. Even if it's Danton Heinen or Anders Bjork involved in the discussions instead, the Bruins would need to give up a valued young winger in order to get the more established Simmonds. 

MORE HAGGERTY

They’d be doing all this for a big-bodied, 29-year-old player who's probably going to start slowing down, and breaking down, over the next few seasons.

A couple of years ago landing Simmonds would have been a master stroke move for the Bruins as they sought to replace Lucic’s hulking presence in the lineup. Certainly they could have used the offensive punch on their second line, where Rick Nash disappointed after arriving at the trade deadline last spring. 

But in this humble hockey writer’s opinion, the window should probably be closed at this point on acquiring Simmonds, given the cost in terms of both assets and future dollars.

NBC SPORTS BOSTON SCHEDULE