Cam Newton among Patriots captains for 2020


Thursday was a big day for New England Patriots quarterback Cam Newton.

Not only was the Pats newcomer officially named the team's starting quarterback to begin the 2020 season, he also will be a team captain.

Joining Newton as captains are David Andrews, James White, Matthew Slater, Devin McCourty, Jason McCourty, Lawrence Guy, and Ja'Whaun Bentley.

Newton previously was a captain on the Carolina Panthers for seven years, so it's no surprise to see him immediately assume a leadership role in new England.

It's Slater's 10th straight season as special teams captain and Devin McCourty's 10th straight year captaining the defense. Guy, Bentley, and Jason McCourty each were named Patriots captains for the first time.

The Patriots are set to begin their season Sept. 13 vs. the Miami Dolphins.