Hall of Fame

Baseball Hall of Fame ballot 2019: Will any Red Sox players be inducted?

Baseball Hall of Fame ballot 2019: Will any Red Sox players be inducted?

The ballot for the 2019 Baseball Hall of Fame class has been revealed, and it features several players who played for the Boston Red Sox.

Here's the full list:

The players on the ballot who spent time in Boston are Manny Ramirez, Curt Schilling, Jason Bay, Roger Clemens, Derek Lowe, Darren Oliver, Billy Wagner and Kevin Youkilis. Schilling and Clemens have been on the ballot for several years but haven't yet received higher than 60 percent.

The players most likely to be inducted are Mariano Rivera, Roy Halladay and Edgar Martinez. Rivera, MLB's all-time saves leader, and Halladay, a two-time Cy Young Award winner, are on the ballot for the first time, while Martinez is entering his 10th and final season on the ballot. Martinez received 70.4 percent of the vote last year, just shy of the 75 percent needed for enshrinement. 

There never has been a unanimous vote for one player. Ken Griffey Jr. was on 437 of 440 ballots in 2016, making him the closest to being unanimous in the history of the voting. Rivera might have a chance to be unanimous, but it seems like some members are just against the idea of a player being on every ballot. 

Hall of Fame voting is cast by members of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA).

Revs coach Friedel, GM Burns on Soccer Hall of Fame ballot

USA TODAY Sports Photo

Revs coach Friedel, GM Burns on Soccer Hall of Fame ballot

FOXBORO -- New England Revolution coach Brad Friedel has been named to the ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2018 elections. In addition, general manager Michael Burns is one of nine former players eligible for election as a Veteran candidate. 
Friedel is in his first year of eligibility after completing his playing career in 2014 as one of the most acclaimed American goalkeepers in history. In addition to earning 82 career caps and appearing in six FIFA World Cup matches, Friedel enjoyed a 17-year career in the English Premier League, where he made 310 consecutive starts in goal and ranks among the top 10 all-time with 132 clean sheets. He has won many individual honors over the years, including being named Major League Soccer goalkeeper of the year in 1997, English Premier League goalkeeper of the year in 2003, and the U.S. Soccer Federation’s men’s athlete of the year in 2002. 
Burns, who played in 75 international matches for the USMNT between 1992 and 1998, remains on the ballot as a Veteran candidate. Now in his seventh season as General Manager of the Revolution, Burns was a member of the 1994 and 1998 FIFA World Cup squads, and competed in the 1992 Olympics Games. His club career was highlighted by a seven-year playing career in Major League Soccer from 1996-2002, where he made 75 total appearances for New England, San Jose, and Kansas City. 
In addition, former Revolution players Taylor Twellman (2002-09) and Steve Ralston (2002-09) remain on the 2018 Player ballot. 
Voting begins today and runs through Monday, March 26 for the Player, Veteran Player, and Builder categories. The results of voting will be announced at a later date, and the grand opening of the National Soccer Hall of Fame is set for the weekend of October 20-21, 2018.

Randy Moss makes it to Canton on his first try

File Photo

Randy Moss makes it to Canton on his first try

It seemed like it was a matter of when, more than if, when discussing Randy Moss and the Hall of Fame.

Tonight we found out that he would be a first ballot Hall of Famer, as first reported by ESPN's Adam Shefter.

Moss was a long time Viking and later had what many regarded as one of the greatest seasons by a wide receiver in the NFL when he played alongside Tom Brady with the Pats in 2007.

Others named to the Hall of Fame include Brian Urlacher, Ray Lewis, Brian Dawkins, Terrell Owens, Jerry Kramer, Robert Brazile, and Bobby Beathard.

Former Patriots star Ty Law was a finalist and came up just short this year. He took to Twitter to congratulate his peers.