Revolution sign Spanish midfielder Carles Gil to multi-year contract

carles_gil_revs.jpg
New England Revolution

Revolution sign Spanish midfielder Carles Gil to multi-year contract

The New England Revolution have made a big splash with the cash. 

The club announced the acquisition of Spanish midfielder Carles Gil, who has signed a multi-year Designated Player contract.

According to reports, the 26-year-old attacking playmaker - with La Liga and English Premier League experience - becomes their most expensive acquisition ever. He reportedly comes on a $2 million transfer from Deportivo La Coruna and has a salary of about $2 million per season. 

"Carles is a gifted attacking player who has competed at the highest levels in both England and Spain throughout his career," Revolution General Manager Michael Burns said. "His experience, technical skill, and ability to create for his teammates will add another dimension to our attack, and we look forward to welcoming him to New England." 

Prior to coming to MLS, he spent time in La Liga with Deportivo, Elche, and Valencia, as well as Aston Villa of the English Premier League. 

Gil has already joined the his new teammates and coaches for preseason training in Marbella, Spain today after completing a medical examination. 

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.

Revolution add Tajon Buchanan and DeJuan Jones in first round of MLS SuperDraft

Revolution add Tajon Buchanan and DeJuan Jones in first round of MLS SuperDraft

In an effort to improve their attack in the MLS SuperDraft Friday, the New England Revolution selected a pair of forwards in the first round. 

The Revs selected Tajon Buchanan, a sophomore out of Syracuse, with the ninth overall pick, and followed that up by taking Michigan State's DeJuan Jones two picks later. 

New England head coach Brad Friedel shared his thoughts on the two players during a conference call Friday. 

[Buchanan] is very athletic, very skilled, especially on the ball, and can take players on one-on-one. [Jones] is an attacking player that can play quite a few different positions. We’re looking forward to getting both acclimated on the team in preseason.

Buchanan, 19, was a two-year starter at Syracuse, scoring 12 goals and and totaling six assists in 33 appearances. The Ontario native is also one of seven players in the draft to sign a Generation Adidas contract prior to his selection. 

Jones, 21, a two-year starter at Michigan State, recorded 16 goals and 14 assists in 75 appearances and earned consecutive Second Team All-Big 10 selections in 2017 and 2018.

The Revs' interest in these two players was strong enough to turn down multiple trade offers for their two first round selections. 

We were approached many times during the first round about our picks, but wanted to use both.

Both players are expected to fit well in the New England attack, while the team still holds second, third and fourth round picks it has yet to use. 

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Celtics easily on your device.

NBC SPORTS BOSTON SCHEDULE

New England Revolution release 2019 MLS schedule

cp-revs-gillette-stadium-overview-night-010718x.jpg
USA Today Sports photo

New England Revolution release 2019 MLS schedule

The New England Revolution will open their 2019 MLS season in Frisco, Tex., against FC Dallas on Saturday, March 2 and then return to Foxboro for their home opener against Columbus Crew SC on Saturday, March 9  -- the earliest home opener in team history. 

The Revs will play a total of 22 games against Eastern Conference opponents this season. New England plays each of its 11 fellow Eastern Conference teams at least twice, including expansion side FC Cincinnati. The first-ever meeting between Cincinnati and New England is set for Sunday, March 24 at Gillette Stadium. The Revolution will also face the 12 clubs in the Western Conference one time each.

NBC Sports Boston will once again serve as the Revolution’s local broadcast partner and will carry up to 32 regular-season games. The 2019 season marks the 10th consecutive campaign that NBCSB will be the television home of the club and the sixth straight year that Brad Feldman and Paul Mariner will team up to call the action from the booth. Naoko Funayama also returns for her third season as sideline reporter. 

In addition to the games aired on NBCSB, two Revolution games will be nationally televised. The club is set to play D.C. United at Audi Field on Friday, July 12 on ESPN, and New York City FC at Yankee Stadium on Saturday, Sept. 7 on Univision.

New England’s complete 2019 regular season schedule may be found on RevolutionSoccer.net, while the entire MLS schedule is available at MLSsoccer.com.

The schedule:

DATE

OPPONENT

TIME

Saturday, March 2 at FC Dallas 4:30 p.m.
Saturday, March 9 Columbus Crew SC 2 p.m.
Sunday, March 17 at Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.
Sunday, March 24 FC Cincinnati 4 p.m.
Saturday, March 30 Minnesota United FC 2 p.m.
Saturday, April 6 at Columbus Crew SC 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 13 Atlanta United FC 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 20 New York Red Bulls 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, April 24 Montreal Impact 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, April 27 at Sporting Kansas City 8:30 p.m.
Saturday, May 4 at Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, May 8 at Chicago Fire 8 p.m.
Saturday, May 11 San Jose Earthquakes 7:30 p.m.
Friday, May 17 at Montreal Impact 8 p.m.
Saturday, May 25 D.C. United 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 1 at Los Angeles Galaxy 10:30 p.m.
Wednesday, June 26 Philadelphia Union 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, June 29 Houston Dynamo 7:30 p.m.
Thursday, July 4 at Colorado Rapids 9 p.m.
Friday, July 12* at D.C. United 7 p.m.
Wednesday, July 17 Vancouver Whitecaps FC 7 p.m.
Sunday, July 21 at FC Cincinnati 6 p.m.
Saturday, July 27 Orlando City SC 8 p.m.
Saturday, August 3 LAFC 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 10 at Seattle Sounders FC 4 p.m.
Saturday, August 17 at New York Red Bulls 7 p.m.
Saturday, August 24 Chicago Fire 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, August 31 Toronto FC 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 7* at New York City FC 3:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 14 at Orlando City FC 7:30 p.m.
Saturday, September 21 Real Salt Lake 7:30 p.m.
Wednesday, September 25 at Portland Timbers 10:30 p.m.
Sunday, September 29 New York City FC 5 p.m.
Sunday, October 6 at Atlanta United FC 4 p.m.
All games televised on NBC Sports Boston except those marked with *
Home games at Gillette Stadium marked in bold / All times Eastern