Big Ten

Big Ten

Ezekiel Elliott isn't going to New York for the Heisman Trophy presentation. No one from the Big Ten is.

Finalists for college football's most prestigious individual award were announced Monday night, and the Big Ten wasn't represented, with finalist honors going to Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffery and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson.

What it means is that for the ninth straight season, a Big Ten player won't be taking home the trophy.

It's been quite the drought for the conference, as no one from the league has won the award since Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith did it in 2006.

[MORE BIG TEN: Ranking the Big Ten bowl schedule from 1 to 10]

While few expected Elliott to win this season's award following a late-season stumble in the Buckeyes' loss to Michigan State, Monday's announcement of the finalists made the league's Heisman dry spell officially continue.

Elliott was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year last week, and he should still finish highly in Heisman voting. Elliott ranks fifth in the country with 1,672 rushing yards, and he is tied for second in the country with 19 rushing touchdowns.

After LSU's Leonard Fournette seemed to establish himself as the runaway favorite, Elliott's candidacy — which was one of the most talked about in the nation prior to the start of the season — took a backseat. But LSU started losing games and the Buckeyes kept winning games, bringing Elliott back into the mix. Elliott remained incredibly consistent, rushing for at least 100 yards in each of Ohio State's first 10 games, including a career-high 274 yards and three touchdowns in a win over Indiana.


But when Ohio State played in its biggest game of the season against Michigan State, Elliott was curiously underutilized, carrying the ball just 12 times for just 33 yards, sinking his chances at the Heisman. Not even 214 yards and a pair of touchdowns in the regular-season finale against Michigan could vault him back into finalist position.

[SHOP BIG TEN: Get your Buckeyes gear right here]

All four of the other Power 5 conferences have boasted a Heisman winner in each of the past four seasons, the Pac-12 breaking an eight-year drought with Marcus Mariota's win last season and the ACC snapping a 12-year dry spell with Jameis Winston's win in 2013.

Smith is the only Big Ten player in this century to win the Heisman. Prior to Smith, the conference's previous winner was Wisconsin's Ron Dayne in 1999.

Big Ten players have still finished highly in voting in recent seasons. Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon was a finalists last season and finished second to Mariota, with Ohio State quarterback J.T. Barrett finishing fifth and Indiana running back Tevin Coleman finishing seventh. In 2013, Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller finished ninth, and he finished fifth in 2012. Wisconsin saw running back Montee Ball and quarterback Russell Wilson both finish in the top 10 in voting in 2011.