Big Ten

Here it is: Check out complete 2015-16 Big Ten basketball schedule

big-ten-basketball-logo-0706.png

Here it is: Check out complete 2015-16 Big Ten basketball schedule

While the start of football season is just a week away, it's already time to start thinking about hoops, too.

The Big Ten announced the full conference basketball schedule for the upcoming 2015-16 season on Thursday.

Here it is, in its entirety:

Tuesday, Dec. 29

— Michigan State at Iowa
— Purdue at Wisconsin

Wednesday, Dec. 30

— Minnesota at Ohio State
— Michigan at Illinois
— Indiana at Rutgers
— Penn State at Maryland
— Northwestern at Nebraska

Saturday, Jan. 2

— Penn State at Michigan
— Rutgers at Wisconsin
— Michigan State at Minnesota
— Indiana at Nebraska
— Iowa at Purdue
— Maryland at Northwestern

Sunday, Jan. 3

— Illinois at Ohio State

Tuesday, Jan. 5

— Wisconsin at Indiana
— Minnesota at Penn State
— Nebraska at Iowa

Wednesday, Jan. 6

— Rutgers at Maryland
— Ohio State at Northwestern

Thursday, Jan. 7

— Michigan at Purdue
— Illinois at Michigan State

Saturday, Jan. 9

— Maryland at Wisconsin
— Nebraska at Rutgers
— Northwestern at Minnesota

Sunday, Jan. 10

— Michigan State at Penn State
— Purdue at Illinois
— Ohio State at Indiana

Tuesday, Jan. 12

— Maryland at Michigan
— Wisconsin at Northwestern
— Minnesota at Nebraska

Wednesday, Jan. 13

— Rutgers at Ohio State
— Penn State at Purdue

Thursday, Jan. 14

— Iowa at Michigan State

Saturday, Jan. 16

— Indiana at Minnesota
— Ohio State at Maryland
— Nebraska at Illinois
— Penn State at Northwestern

Sunday, Jan. 17

— Michigan State at Wisconsin
— Michigan at Iow

Monday, Jan. 18

— Purdue at Rutgers

Tuesday, Jan. 19

— Illinois at Indiana
— Northwestern at Maryland

Wednesday, Jan. 20

— Nebraska at Michigan State
— Minnesota at Michigan

Thursday, Jan. 21

— Wisconsin at Penn State
— Ohio State at Purdue
— Iowa at Rutgers

Saturday, Jan. 23

— Michigan at Nebraska
— Maryland at Michigan State
— Illinois at Minnesota
— Northwestern at Indiana

Sunday, Jan. 24

— Purdue at Iowa

Monday, Jan. 25

— Penn State at Ohio State

Tuesday, Jan. 26

— Indiana at Wisconsin

Wednesday, Jan. 27

— Rutgers at Michigan
— Purdue at Minnesota

Thursday, Jan. 28

— Michigan State at Northwestern
— Iowa at Maryland
— Ohio State at Illinois

Saturday, Jan. 30

— Michigan vs. Penn State
— Minnesota at Indiana
— Nebraska at Purdue

Sunday, Jan. 31

— Maryland at Ohio State
— Northwestern at Iowa
— Rutgers at Michigan State
— Wisconsin at Illinois

Tuesday, Feb. 2

— Indiana at Michigan

Wednesday, Feb. 3

— Illinois at Rutgers
— Maryland at Nebraska
— Penn State at Iowa

Thursday, Feb. 4

— Ohio State at Wisconsin
— Minnesota at Northwestern

Saturday, Feb. 6

— Michigan State at Michigan
— Rutgers at Nebraska
— Purdue at Maryland
— Indiana at Penn State
— Iowa at Illinois

Sunday, Feb. 7

— Iowa at Illinois

Tuesday, Feb. 9

— Michigan State at Purdue
— Northwestern at Ohio State

Wednesday, Feb. 10

— Nebraska at Wisconsin
— Michigan at Minnesota

Thursday, Feb. 11

— Iowa at Indiana

Saturday, Feb. 13

— Wisconsin at Maryland
— Purdue at Michigan
— Ohio State at Rutgers
— Illinois at Northwestern
— Penn State at Nebraska

Sunday, Feb. 14

— Indiana at Michigan State
— Minnesota at Iowa

Tuesday, Feb. 16

— Michigan at Ohio State
— Northwestern at Purdue
— Rutgers at Illinois

Wednesday, Feb. 17

— Iowa at Penn State
— Nebraska at Indiana

Thursday, Feb. 18

— Maryland at Minnesota
— Wisconsin at Michigan State

Saturday, Feb. 20

— Ohio State at Nebraska (game could possibly be played on Feb. 21)
— Purdue at Indiana
— Penn State at Rutgers

Sunday, Feb. 21

— Michigan at Maryland
— Illinois at Wisconsin

Tuesday, Feb. 23

— Michigan State at Ohio State
— Rutgers at Minnesota

Wednesday, Feb. 24

— Northwestern at Michigan
— Wisconsin at Iowa

Thursday, Feb. 25

— Indiana at Illinois
— Nebraska at Penn State

Saturday, Feb. 27

— Rutgers at Northwestern
— Maryland at Purdue
— Iowa at Ohio State (game could possibly be played Feb. 28)

Sunday, Feb. 28

— Minnesota at Illinois
— Michigan at Wisconsin
— Penn State at Michigan State

Tuesday, March 1

— Indiana at Iowa
— Purdue at Nebraska

Wednesday, March 2

— Michigan State at Rutgers
— Wisconsin at Minnesota

Thursday, March 3

— Illinois at Maryland
— Northwestern at Penn State

Saturday, March 5

— Minnesota at Rutgers
— Iowa at Michigan

Sunday, March 6

— Illinois at Penn State
— Nebraska at Northwestern
— Ohio State at Michigan State (game could possibly be played March 5)
— Maryland at Indiana (game could possibly be played March 5)
— Wisconsin at Purdue (game could possibly be played March 5)

Northwestern running back Jeremy Larkin diagnosed with cervical stenosis, will retire immediately

jeremy_larkin.jpg
USA TODAY

Northwestern running back Jeremy Larkin diagnosed with cervical stenosis, will retire immediately

Tough news out of Evanston this morning: Northwestern announced that running back Jeremy Larkin will retire immediately after being diagnosed with cervical stenosis.

Cervical stenois is the narrowing of the spinal canal in one's neck, according to Mayo Clinic. Larkin's condition is thankfully not life-threatening, though it does prevent him from continuing to participate in the game of football. 

"Football has been a lifelong passion and it has been a process to reconcile the fact I won't be on that field again, given I've played this game since I was five years old," Larkin said.

"I'm extremely appreciative of the Northwestern sports medicine and athletic training staffs for uncovering this condition, and for my coaches and the medical staff for always putting my health first.

"I came to this University to engage at the absolute highest level on the field and in the classroom, and I'm grateful for the opportunity to continue one of those while supporting my teammates from the sideline." 

Head Coach Pat Fitzgerald called the news "heartbreaking."

"This is heartbreaking because I see every day how much Jeremy loves the game, loves his teammates, and loves to compete," Fitzgerald said in a statement. "But this is the absolute best possible outcome for him.

"The discovery of this condition allowed Jeremy and his family to make an informed decision for his long-term health and well-being. For those of us who have known Jeremy Larkin since his high school days, his future is exceptionally bright. I can't wait to see the impact he makes in our world."

Larkin is a sophomore from Cincinnati. He finishes his Northwestern career with 156 carries for 849 yards and 10 rushing touchdowns.

Former Illini champion Kevin Anderson upsets Roger Federer in Wimbledon quarterfinal

anderson.jpg
USA TODAY

Former Illini champion Kevin Anderson upsets Roger Federer in Wimbledon quarterfinal

Former University of Illinois tennis star Kevin Anderson completed a marathon upset against an all-time great on the highest stage of professional tennis.

Anderson came back from two sets down to beat Roger Federer in Wimbledon’s quarterfinals 2-6, 6-7, 7-6, 6-4, 13-11 on Wednesday morning. He will play in the semifinals of the tournament for the first time in his career.

As a native of South Africa, Anderson played three seasons with the Fighting Illini and won the NCAA doubles championship during the 2005-06 season as a sophomore. The 32-year-old was a three-time All-American in singles at Illinois.

Now, as the eighth ranked singles player on the ATP World Tour, Anderson is a force to be reckoned with at the professional level. He made it all the way to the US Open final in 2017.

The former Illini star will look to keep his recent success going when he represents Illinois in the semifinals of Wimbledon this Friday.