Pau Gasol's first year in Chicago has been an overwhelming success, a point proven again Wednesday as the star forward took home the 2014-15 Magic Johnson Award.

The honor is handed out each year by the Professional Basketball Writers Association to the NBA player who "best combines excellence on the basketball court with cooperation and dignity in dealing with the media and public."

[RELATED - Tom Thibodeau finishes 7th in Coach of the Year voting]

Gasol beat out Steph Curry (Warriors), Manu Ginobili (Spurs), LeBron James (Cavaliers) and Damian Lillard (Trail Blazers) for the award.

According to the PBWA, a group of about 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA, Gasol "consistently fostered an atmosphere of mutual respect with the media."

Gasol joins Jalen Rose (2002-03) as the only Bulls players to win the award.

[NBC SHOP: Gear up, Bulls fans!]

Past winners include:

2000-01: Ray Allen, Milwaukee Bucks
2001-02: Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2002-03: Jalen Rose, Chicago Bulls
2003-04: Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana Pacers
2004-05: Antawn Jamison, Washington Wizards
2005-06: Grant Hill, Orlando Magic
2006-07: Shane Battier, Houston Rockets
2007-08: Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
2008-09: Brandon Roy, Portland Trail Blazers
2009-10: Chris Bosh, Toronto Raptors
2010-11: Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
2011-12: Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
2012-13: Shane Battier, Miami Heat
2013-14: Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks