Dax McCarty set to rejoin U.S. national team

Even during the Chicago Fire's losing streak, Dax McCarty has remained one of the team's most consistent performers. That consistency continues to get rewarded by U.S. national team coach Bruce Arena.

Arena included McCarty in the 26-man roster for the pair of upcoming World Cup qualifiers. The U.S. will host Costa Rica on Sept. 1 at McCarty's former home stadium, Red Bull Arena. Four days later the U.S. will travel to Honduras, always a tough place to play for the Americans.

McCarty will miss the Fire's trip to Montreal on Sept. 2, which doesn't bode well for the Fire trying to snap a four-game losing streak. The Fire lost 3-0 at Montreal on Aug. 16. McCarty would likely be available for the Fire's match against the New York Red Bulls on Sept. 9.

The Fire have lost six of the last seven and McCarty said after the loss that the team's sense of urgency "needs to be ramped up to another level."

McCarty is the only Fire player to get called up to a national team. David Accam was left off Ghana's roster and Nemanja Nikolic declined to join Hungary, instead electing to focus on the stretch run for the Fire.

Here is the full U.S. national team roster:

GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Atlanta United FC), Tim Howard (Colorado Rapids), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

DEFENDERS (9): DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), Omar Gonzalez (Pachuca/MEX), Matt Hedges (FC Dallas), Eric Lichaj (Nottingham Forest/ENG), Tim Ream (Fulham/ENG), Jorge Villafa├▒a (Santos Laguna/MEX), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

MIDFIELDERS (9): Kellyn Acosta (FC Dallas), Paul Arriola (D.C. United), Alejandro Bedoya (Philadelphia Union), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Fabian Johnson (Borussia M├Ânchengladbach/GER), Dax McCarty (Chicago Fire), Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders)

FORWARDS (5): Jozy Altidore (Toronto FC), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), Jordan Morris (Seattle Sounders FC), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Bobby Wood (Hamburg/GER)