The Cubs had a rough go of it in Wednesday's game against the Reds, but Kris Bryant provided a late highlight.
With the bases loaded and no outs in the seventh, Bryant started a 5-3 triple play with a diving catch to his right at third base. The play got the Cubs out of a big jam, as the Reds already scored three runs in the inning and were threatening for more.
The thing is, Bryant didn't actually catch the ball, trapping it on a short hop, rather.
Triple play!— Chicago Cubs (@Cubs) July 30, 2020
So, what happened? Catch/no catch plays in the infield aren't reviewable under MLB's replay rules. It would have been difficult to determine the outcome of the play had they been able to rule Bryant didn't make the catch through video review.
Therefore, Bryant's play stands, giving the Cubs their first triple play since May 10, 1997 against the Giants. In a unique season, that's as unique a play as you'll see.
"I guess I can put that on my list of things I've accomplished," Bryant said postgame. "I don't think I've ever turned a triple play in my life, so that was pretty cool."