Wisdom snubbed in NL Rookie of Year voting


Patrick Wisdom made Cubs history in 2021, but it wasn't enough to earn a top-three finish in NL Rookie of the Year voting.

Jonathan India (Reds), Dylan Carlson (Cardinals) and Trevor Rogers are the three finalists for the honor, as announced by the BBWAA on Monday.

Nobody expected Wisdom to beat out India — the likely favorite to win the award — but he was expected to be a top-three guy most of the past three months.

Wisdom burst onto the scene after joining the Cubs in late May. He hit 28 home runs in his age-29 season, breaking Kris Bryant's Cubs rookie record record.

He led NL rookies in homers and finished third among all qualified rookies in OPS (.823), trailing teammate Frank Schwindel and India.

Wisdom, an NL Silver Slugger Award finalist at third base, was a finalist for NL Outstanding Rookie — part of the MLBPA Players Choice Awards. India took home that honor.

India, Carlson and Rogers all had strong seasons. In 150 games, India hit .269/.376/.459 with 21 home runs and 69 RBIs.

In 149 games, Carlson hit .266/.343/.437 with 18 homers and 65 RBIs as St. Louis reached the postseason.

Rogers made 25 starts, posting a 2.64 ERA with 157 strikeouts in 133 innings.

The winner will be announced next Monday on MLB Network.

Click here to follow the Cubs Talk Podcast.

Download MyTeams Today!