Monday, March 28, 2011
Posted 4:29 p.m.

Ben Hansbrough continues to earn recognition for his outstanding senior season.

Already named the 2011 Big East Player of the Year, Hansbrough was named a second team All-American by the Associated Press on Monday.

Hansbrough led Notre Dame by scoring 18.4 points per game and led the Irish in assists (145) and steals (41) while leading the team to a top-5 ranking and earning a No. 2 seed in the NCAA tournament.

The sharpshooting guard led Notre Dame in scoring 20 times, including twice topping the 30-point mark and scoring at least 20 points in 14 contests.

Joining Hansbrough on the second team are Jordan Taylor (Wisconsin), Marcus Morris (Kansas), Kawhi Leonard (San Diego State) and Derrick Williams (Arizona).

The first team is comprised of Kemba Walker (Connecticut), Nolan Smith (Duke), Jimmer Fredettte (BYU), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State) and JaJuan Johnson (Purdue).