Other Sports

Iowa high school state wrestling tournament by the numbers


Iowa high school state wrestling tournament by the numbers

Wrestling fans can expect to see the best individuals in the state competing on Friday and Saturday at the 2017 Iowa state wrestling tournament in Des Moines. Here are some interesting numbers to keep in mind. 

  • 16,980 seats in Wells Fargo Arena in downtown Des Moines are expected to filled for the finals 


  • 672 total wrestlers competing in the state tournament


  • 224 per class (1A, 2A, 3A)


  • 230 different schools represented (90 in Class 1A, 83 in Class 2A and 57 in Class 3A)


  • 16 wrestlers competing in each weight classes


  • 14 weight classes (106, 113, 120, 126, 132, 138, 145, 152, 160, 170, 182, 195, 220, 285)


  • 42 total individual Iowa state wrestling champions will be crowned


  • 18 state champions from 2016 have qualified for this year’s state tournament (eight in Class 3A, four in Class 2A and six in Class 1A)


  • Six wrestlers are attempting to win their third straight state title. 


  • Four of these wrestlers are seniors; Marcus Coleman (Ames), Ryan Leisure (Clear Lake), Brody Teske (Fort Dodge), Bryce West (Solon)


  • Two are juniors; Chase Shiltz (Creston/Orient-Macksburg) and Alex Thomsen (Underwood)



  • 25 total four time Iowa state wrestling champions


  • Zero wrestlers have a chance to win a fourth straight title this year


  • 82 total three time Iowa state wrestling champions (As noted above, there are six wrestlers that have a chance at it this year)


  • 23 undefeated wrestlers heading into the state tournament (10 in Class 3A, 3 in Class 2A, 10 in Class 1A) with Chase Shiltz (52-0) of Creston/Orient-Macksburg in Class 2A (182) as the only 50-win undefeated wrestler in the state of Iowa


Be sure to watch all of the action on CSN or live stream via the NBC Sports App beginning with the semifinals on Friday at 3:30 p.m. all the way through the championship matches on Saturday night. 

More Iowa high school wrestling coverage:

Advice on how to win an Iowa wrestling state title from Dan Gable and Mark Ironside

Iowa high school wrestling triva: How many can you get right?

By the Numbers: Iowa high school state wrestling tournament

UK outlines plan for English Premier League to resume play this summer

UK outlines plan for English Premier League to resume play this summer

The U.K. has put forth a plan for the Premier League to return this summer, but fans will have to stay home and watch on TV.

The British government detailed the steps in a report called “Our Plan to Rebuild: The UK Government's COVID-19 Recovery Strategy.

Inside the 51-page document it says the U.K. can begin “permitting cultural and sporting events to take place behind closed-doors for broadcast, while avoiding the risk of large-scale social contact,” in Step 2 of the plan, starting June 1.

Before moving on to Step 2, however, the report states the U.K. must pass five benchmarks, including: seeing a declining COVID-19 infection rate, a declining death rate (due to COVID-19), being confident that they will be able to provide intensive care across the U.K., and being confident that the healthcare system will still have plenty of access to PPE materials.

According to ESPN, the Premier League will also have to present a plan to the U.K.’s Department of Culture, Media & Sport before they’re cleared to play.

As for fans in seats, the report says “while reopening outdoor spaces and activities… comes earlier in the roadmap because the risk of transmission outdoors is significantly lower, it is likely that reopening… venues that attract large crowds (like sports stadia)... may only be fully possible significantly later depending on the reduction in numbers of infections.”

Soccer fans looking to watch games no matter who’s playing will have another option soon. Bundesliga, Germany’s top soccer league, will restart play on Saturday.

Click here to download the new MyTeams App by NBC Sports! Receive comprehensive coverage of your teams and stream the Bulls easily on your device.

President Donald Trump calls for sports to resume play at UFC 249

President Donald Trump calls for sports to resume play at UFC 249

Last night, live sports returned in the United States at UFC 249. Held in an empty arena without fans, with a load of coronavirus prevention guidelines and testing, some normalcy returned to the sports world.

President Donald Trump addressed UFC fans during the broadcast in a video from the White House.

"I'm standing in a very important spot, right outside the Oval Office, and you're looking at the White House behind me," Trump said. "It's an honor to be here and an honor to salute you. I want to congratulate Dana White and the UFC. They're going to have a big match.

"We love it. We think it's important. Get the sports league back. Let's play. Do the social distancing and whatever else you have to do, but we need sports. We want our sports back."

It's worth noting that UFC light heavyweight Jacare Souza tested positive for COVID-19 and his bout with Uriah Hall was pulled from the event, but the card continued otherwise. It's also worth noting that Trump and UFC president Dana White have a close personal relationship, with White speaking at the Republican National Convention in 2016.

Trump has reportedly held calls with the commissioners of the major sports leagues about how to get sports going again. As of now, the NBA, NHL and MLB seasons are suspended, and there isn't a clear return date or plan in mind. Reports of options have crept out, but nothing concrete is in place.

The NFL released its schedule in early May and is planning on starting in early September, as usual. However, there are contingency plans in place if the season needs to be delayed.