Preps Talk

100 Days to Kickoff Countdown

100_days_to_kickoff_st_xavier.jpg
NBC Sports Chicago

100 Days to Kickoff Countdown

High school football is right around the corner, sports fans.

NBCSportsChicago.com preps reporter "Edgy" Tim O’Halloran spotlights 100 high school football teams in 100 days. The first 75 team profiles will focus on teams making strides across Chicagoland and elsewhere in the state. Starting Aug. 5, we’ll unveil the @NBCSPreps Top 25 Power Rankings, leading up to kickoff on Friday, Aug. 30. That night also represents the season premiere of High School Lites, 11:00 p.m. on NBCSCH.

In case you missed any of our previews, here is our rundown:

100 – Wed. May 22: Andrew

99 – Thu. May 23: Prospect

98 – Fri. May 24: Plainfield South

97 – Sat. May 25: Elmwood Park

96 – Sun May 26: Morris

95 – Mon. May 27: Fremd

94 – Tue. May 28: Carmel

93 – Wed. May 29: Oswego East

92 – Thu. May 30: Grayslake North

91 – Fri. May 31: Hoffman Estates

90 – Sat. June 1: St. Patrick

89 – Sun. June 2: Woodstock North

88 – Mon. June 3: McHenry

87 – Tue. June 4: T.F. South

86 – Wed. June 5: St. Francis

85 – Thu. June 6: West Chicago

84 – Fri. June 7: Marmion

83 – Sat. June 8: Maine West

82 – Sun. June 9: Taft

81 – Mon. June 10: Oak Lawn

80 – Tue. June 11: T.F. North

79 – Wed. June 12: Hersey

78 – Thu. June 13: Notre Dame

77 – Fri. June 14: Elk Grove

76 – Sat. June 15: Eisenhower

75 – Sun. June 16: St. Ignatius

74 – Mon. June 17: Metea Valley

73 – Tue. June 18: Fenwick

72 – Wed. June 19: West Aurora

71 – Thu. June 20: Crystal Lake Central

70 – Fri. June 21: Johnsburg

69 – Sat. June 22: Bremen

68 – Sun. June 23: St. Laurence

67 – Mon. June 24: Kaneland

66 – Tue. June 25: St. Edward

65 – Wed. June 26: Solorio

64 – Thu. June 27: Geneva

63 – Fri. June 28: Payton

62 – Sat. June 29: Rochester

61 – Sun. June 30: Lane Tech

60 – Mon. July 1: Evanston

59 – Tue. July 2: Bishop McNamara

58 – Wed. July 3: York

57 – Thu. July 4: Aurora Christian

56 – Fri. July 5: Glenbard North

55 – Sat. July 6: Kankakee

54 – Sun. July 7: Wheaton North

53 – Mon. July 8: Naperville North 

52 – Tue. July 9: Thornton

51 – Wed. July 10: Wheaton Warrenville South

50 – Thu. July 11: DeKalb

49 – Fri. July 12: St. Charles East

48 – Sat. July 13: Riverside-Brookfield

47 – Sun. July 14: Chicago Christian

46 – Mon. July 15: Downers Grove North

45 – Tue. July 16: Joliet West

44 – Wed. July 17: Mundelein

43 – Thu. July 18: Shepard

42 – Fri. July 19: Glenbard East

41 – Sat. July 20: Wilmington

40 – Sun. July 21: De La Salle

39 – Mon. July 22: Providence

38 – Tue. July 23: Niles West

37 – Wed. July 24: Willowbrook

36 – Thu. July 25: Coal City

35 – Fri. July 26: Conant

34 – Sat. July 27: Fenton

33 – Sun. July 28: Aurora Central Catholic

32 – Mon. July 29: Lemont

31 – Tue. July 30: Maine East

30 – Wed. July 31: New Trier

29 – Thu. Aug. 1: IC Catholic Prep

28 – Fri. Aug. 2: Crete-Monee

27 – Sat. Aug. 3: Stevenson 

26 – Sun. Aug. 4: St. Rita

25 – Mon. Aug. 5: Richards

24 – Tue. Aug. 6: Joliet Catholic

23 – Wed. Aug. 7: Simeon

22 – Thu. Aug. 8: Oak Park-River Forest

21 – Fri. Aug. 9: Hinsdale Central

20 – Sat. Aug. 10: Neuqua Valley

19 – Sun. Aug. 11: Barrington

18 – Mon. Aug. 12: Oswego

17 – Tue. Aug. 13: Prairie Ridge

16 – Wed. Aug. 14: Minooka

15 – Thu. Aug. 15: Maine South

14 – Fri. Aug. 16: Montini 

13 – Sat. Aug. 17: Phillips

12 – Sun. Aug. 18: Glenbard West

11 – Mon. Aug. 19: Lake Zurich

10 – Tues. Aug. 20: Mount Carmel

9 – Wed. Aug. 21: Brother Rice

8 – Thu. Aug. 22: Warren

7 – Fri. Aug. 23: Homewood-Flossmoor

6 – Sat. Aug. 24: Naperville Central

5 – Sun. Aug. 25: Batavia

4 – Mon. Aug. 26: St. Charles North

3 – Tues. Aug. 27: Lincoln-Way East

2 – Wed. Aug. 28: Nazareth

1 – Thu. Aug. 29: Loyola

 

Bloom is new No. 1 in latest boys basketball Preps Power Rankings

Bloom is new No. 1 in latest boys basketball Preps Power Rankings

The latest Preps Power Rankings see some shakeups thanks to the previous No. 1 team losing and some top-25 matchups.

The new No. 1 is Bloom as they continue to look like the best team in the state early this season. The rest of the Power Rankings saw minimal shakeup, with only three new teams -- two of which were in the preseason rankings.

1. Bloom (7-0, 2-0) (2) -- The Blazing Trojans continue a strong start with a blowout win at the Chicago Elite Classic over Pace and two Southland wins over Kankakee and Thornridge. Balanced efforts and multiple guys taking over is a huge early storyline with Bloom.

2. Bogan (7-0, 2-0) (6) -- Placing themselves firmly in the No. 1 discussion with a home win over Morgan Park, this is another tough Bogan team that can win in multiple ways. The Bengals get tested with league games against Corliss and No. 8 Simeon. 

3. Morgan Park (3-1, 1-1) (1) -- The Mustangs fell to No. 2 Bogan in league play before bouncing back with an overtime win over Christian Brothers in the Chicago Elite Classic. Junior Brandon Weston continues a strong start while senior Adam Miller remains the area's biggest game changer offensively.

4. Whitney Young (2-2, 2-0) (3) -- The Dolphins fell to Duncanville with a late-game collapse in the Chicago Elite Classic but they knocked off Farragut and Marshall in the Public League. Whitney Young traveling to No. 11 Lincoln Park will be one of the marquee games to watch this week. 

5. Curie (4-0, 2-0) (4) -- Going 2-0 in Public League play and winning at the prestigious Marshall County Hoop Fest, the Condors continue a strong start. Curie gets two major local tests this week with No. 3 Morgan Park and No. 22 Hillcrest. 

6. Stevenson (5-0) (5) -- Solid win on the road for the Patriots over Westinghouse. Stevenson will get tested three times this week as they face Libertyville, Zion-Benton and OPRF. 

7. Evanston (6-0, 1-0) (13) -- Firmly placing themselves in the top ten with a win over Notre Dame, Wildkits were very impressive. Juniors Blake Peters and Jaylin Gibson are the headliners but Evanston has plenty of other dangerous options.

8. Simeon (1-1, 1-0) (7) -- The Wolverines started the season with a balanced effort to knock off Lindblom before falling to St. Frances in the Chicago Elite Classic. Simeon will battle No. 2 Bogan in a huge Public League clash this week.

9. Marian Catholic (5-1, 1-0) (9) -- The Spartans won by double digits in both games, taking down Marist and Normal West. The ESCC's top spot is on the line when Marian Catholic plays Notre Dame on Tuesday. 

10. Loyola (6-0, 2-0) (10) -- Loyola went unscathed in the Catholic League with wins over Leo and Montini. The Ramblers get a major battle with No. 13 Notre Dame this week in non-conference play. 

11. Lincoln Park (6-1, 2-0) (11) -- The Lions battled to three wins as they held off Westinghouse and Kenwood on back-to-back days. Lincoln Park gets major tests during the week with league games against No. 17 Orr and No. 4 Whitney Young.

12. Lake Park (6-0, 1-0) (12) -- Nice week for the Lancers with a conference win over Batavia and an additional victory over Rockford Lutheran. Lake Park faces Larkin and Wheaton North this week.

13. Notre Dame (6-1) (8) -- A setback for Notre Dame with a loss to Evanston in the Chicago Elite Classic. A very talented team that is still figuring out how to play together, the Dons have a very high ceiling.

14. Thornton (5-0, 2-0) (14) -- Nice week for the Wildcats with wins over Rich South and Crete-Monee. Junior Brandon Hall continues to look like a potential standout player. Huge matchup with No. 1 Bloom with the Southland's top spot on the line this week.

15. DePaul Prep (5-1, 2-0) (16) -- Defense was the major story for the Rams this week in two blowout wins in Catholic League play. DePaul Prep plays Mount Carmel and Providence in league play this week.

16.  Homewood-Flossmoor (5-1) (17) -- Two double-digit wins for Homewood-Flossmoor this week as the Vikings are playing well. They play Lincoln-Way Central this week before a big clash with Simeon looms.  

17. Orr (2-1) (18) -- Opening the season this week, the Spartans claimed a solid road win at Danville, a win over Farragut and a loss to Texas powerhouse Duncanville. The Spartans are getting solid early production from senior Demarius Splunge.

18. Bolingbrook (3-1) (19) -- Kai Evans continues a strong start as the Raiders ran past Lincoln-Way West. Bolingbrook has a busy week with four games on the schedule -- including a trip to Iowa for two games.  

19. Glenbrook South (6-0, 1-0) (20) -- After two more challenges, the Titans remain unbeaten. Nice wins during the week against Hersey and in overtime against New Trier has Glenbrook South flying high. 

20. Mundelein (6-0) (21) -- The Mustangs weren't challenged much this week with two double-digit wins. Mundelein gets two North Suburban home games this week against Lake Forest and Waukegan.

21. Fenwick (5-1, 2-0) (23) -- The evolution of sophomore guard Trey Pettigrew continues for the Friars. Opposing teams now have to worry about slowing down Bryce Hopkins first and stopping Pettigrew as well. Nice win over OPRF in the Chicago Elite Classic.

22. Hillcrest (3-2, 1-0) (24) -- Quality win for the Hawks taking down a talented Oak Lawn team on the road. The return of junior guard Mar'Kiese Irving is a big addition that gives the Hawks additional perimeter scoring. 

23. Niles North (6-1, 1-0) (NR) -- An impressive week for the Vikings with wins over Deerfield and Joliet West. They're back in the Power Rankings after dropping out only a week as senior Aquan Smart continues to be an All-Area candidate.

24. St. Charles North (6-1, 1-0) (NR) -- Three wins during the week has the North Stars back in the top 25. St. Charles North had solid wins over DeKalb and Wheaton North.

25. Hinsdale South (6-0, 1-0) (NR) -- The Hornets haven't been tested much to this point but Aaron Tims and Billy Durkin are off to solid starts. Big matchup against Willowbrook during the week. 

High School Lites Week 1 basketball roundup

high_school_lites_basketball_hoops.jpg
NBCSCH

High School Lites Week 1 basketball roundup

High School Lites featured plenty of great basketball action on Friday night as NBC Sports Chicago had highlights of many of the area's top matchups.

Be sure to follow us on Twitter @CSNPreps for all of the latest IHSA basketball scores and highlights.

Midweek Mixtape: Bogan 73, Vocational 42

Team of the Week: Mount Carmel and Lincoln-Way East football

Athlete of the Week: Marian Catholic's Ahron Ulis

Friday's Scores

Evanston 62, Notre Dame 53

Fenwick 55, Oak Park-River Forest 48

York 51, Lyons 41

 Brother Rice 61, St. Rita 58

Hillcrest 72, Oak Lawn 65

Richards 72, Tinley Park 59

Lake Park 58, Batavia 48

Leo 49, St. Joseph 46

(Girls): Hersey 71,  Prospect 46

Rolling Meadows 70, Elk Grove 37