White Sox

Abreu, Robert nominated for MLB Players Choice Awards

White Sox

José Abreu and Luis Robert played big parts in the White Sox making the 2020 postseason, their first playoff berth since 2008, and their peers recognize their contributions.

Abreu and Robert are each nominated for 2020 MLB Players Choice Awards. The Sox first baseman is up for MLB Player of the Year and the America League Outstanding Player Award. Robert is nominated for the AL Outstanding Rookie Award.

Abreu is a top candidate for AL MVP after an impressive season in which he slashed .317/.370/.617. He hit 19 home runs, led MLB in RBIs (60) and finished fourth in AL fWAR (2.6).

MORE: 2020 MLB awards: Predicting AL/NL Cy Young, MVP and more

Robert burst onto the scene, providing stellar defense and hitting well in the first half of the season before slumping in September. However, he finished third among all rookie position players in fWAR (1.5).

The award winners will be announced on Oct. 22. Here's all of the nominees:

MLB Player of the Year: Abreu, Shane Bieber (Indians), Freddie Freeman (Braves)

AL Outstanding Player: Abreu, DJ Lemahieu (Yankees), Mike Trout (Angels)

AL Outstanding Pitcher: Bieber, Gerrit Cole (Yankees), Lance Lynn (Rangers)

AL Outstanding Rookie: Robert, James Karinchak (Indians), Kyle Lewis (Mariners)

AL Comeback Player: Carlos Carrasco (Indians), Salvador Perez (Royals), José Ramírez (Indians)

NL Outstanding Pitcher: Yu Darvish (Cubs), Trevor Bauer (Reds), Jacob deGrom (Mets)

NL Outstanding Player: Mookie Betts (Dodgers), Freeman, Juan Soto (Nationals)


NL Outstanding Rookie: Alec Bohm (Phillies), Jake Cronenworth (Padres), Devin Williams (Brewers)

NL Comeback Player: Daniel Bard (Rockies), Adam Duvall (Braves), Wil Myers (Padres)

Marvin Miller Man of the Year: Jason Heyward (Cubs), Nelson Cruz (Twins), Adam Wainwright (Cardinals)

The Marvin Miller Man of the Year winner is who players "most respect based on his leadership on the field and in the community." The winner receives a $10,000 grant, while the other award's recipients receive $5,000 grants.

Download MyTeams Today!