White Sox

Pair of White Sox win first set of 2020 postseason awards

White Sox

A couple of White Sox won their first postseason awards on Thursday morning. Sporting News announced that José Abreu won their MLB Player of the Year award, while Rick Hahn won the MLB Executive of the Year award.

It’s no surprise Abreu came away as the Player of the Year after his incredible regular season.

“It’s not always easy to improve upon a season in which you hit 33 homers, drive in a league-leading 123 runs and make the All-Star team, but Jose Abreu managed to do it in 2020, albeit in a truncated way,” said Jason Foster of Sporting News.

It’s true, as Abreu led MLB in RBI (60) and total bases (148), came second in the AL in homers (19) and was fourth in the AL in average (.317). That blend of power and consistency is hard to find in hitters these days.

Abreu received 47 votes for the award, while Shane Bieber came in second with 25 votes. Abreu is the third White Sox player to win the honor since it was first awarded in 1936. Early Wynn won in 1959 and Frank Thomas won in 1993.

Download MyTeams Today!

Meanwhile, Sporting News credits a mix of free agent signings, and prospect call-ups for Rick Hahn’s Executive of the Year award.

“Among Hahn’s successful moves that paved the way for a 35-25 season in 2020: signing lefty Dallas Keuchel, who pitched to a 1.99 ERA in 11 starts; re-signing slugger Jose Abreu, who led the AL in several key offensive categories; signed free-agent catcher Yasmani Grandal, who provided solid contributions with the bat (eight homers, .351 on-base percentage) and behind the plate (five defensive runs saved above average); brought up top prospect Nick Madrigal on the last day of July, providing the team with another offensive threat (.376 OBP in 109 plate appearances),” said Foster.


In the end, the White Sox finished with their first winning record since 2012 and made the postseason for the first time since 2008.