Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Anthony Davis first ‘Cat to win Oscar Robertson Trophy


Mike Miller

Anthony Davis is now in Kevin Durant territory.

Kentucky’s freshman center won the Oscar Robertson Trophy on Monday, making him the national player of the year according to the US Basketball Writers Association. He’s the first Kentucky player to win it – it’s been awarded since 1959 – and just the second freshman. Durant won it in 2007.

He’s also a finalist for the Naismith Trophy and already won the SEC and freshman of the year awards. The Basketball Times also named Davis its player of the year.

Davis, a 6-10 center, averages 14.3 points, 10.1 rebounds and 4.6 blocks per game. As Kyle Tucker of the Louisville Courier-Journal notes, Davis is just five blocks from setting the SEC record and 17 from a freshman mark.

His defensive presence is one of the main reasons why the Wildcats (34-2) are the favorites to win the NCAA tournament.

He’ll be presented the award at an awards breakfast before the Final Four.

You also can follow me on Twitter @MikeMillerNBC.