Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

AP All-American teams announced, Doug McDermott on first team

mcdermott 2

For the first time in 29 years, we have a three-time first-team All-American.

On Monday morning, the AP announced their all-american teams, with Creighton’s Doug McDermott leading the way as the lone unanimous member. It was the third straight season that the nation’s leading scorer was named a first-team All-American. The last time that happened was back in 1985, when Wayman Tisdale and Patrick Ewing both won the award for a third straight season.

There were four seniors on the first team, including three from the AAC -- Shabazz Napier of UConn, Cincinnati’s Sean Kilpatrick and Louisville guard Russ Smith. Duke freshman Jabari Parker rounded out the group.

It’s the exact same first team as the All-American team:

Here are the teams in full:


  • Doug McDermott, Creighton
  • Shabazz Napier, UConn
  • Russ Smith, Louisville
  • Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
  • Jabari Parker, Duke


  • Nick Johnson, Arizona
  • Nik Stauskas, Michigan
  • T.J. Warren, N.C. State
  • Andrew Wiggins, Kansas
  • Melvin Ejim, Iowa State