Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

BYU, Oklahoma among eight teams to participate in 2015 Diamond Head Classic

Lon Kruger

Lon Kruger


With the 2014 Diamond Head Classic set to tip off in Honolulu on Monday, the eight-team field for next year’s event was announced on Sunday. Joining host Hawaii are Auburn, BYU, Harvard, New Mexico, Northern Iowa, Oklahoma and Washington State.

Of the teams in the field four, BYU, Harvard, New Mexico and Oklahoma, reached the NCAA tournament a season ago. Oklahoma is the only team in the field currently ranked in the AP Top 15, with the Sooners ranked 15th. Northern Iowa was in the poll last week, but fell out following their double overtime loss at VCU.

BYU, which played in the Maui Invitational last month, will be playing in an in-season tournament in Hawaii for the second consecutive year. The 2015 Diamond Head Classic is scheduled for December 22-24, 2015, with all games being played at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

Follow @raphiellej