Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

CBT’s Pac-12 postseason awards

Jorge Gutierrez

California’s Jorge Gutierrez goes up for a basket during the first half of an NCAA college basketball game against UCLA in Los Angeles, Saturday, Feb. 11, 2012. (AP Photo/Jae C. Hong)


Player of the Year: Jorge Gutierrez, Cal

The last time a player in the Pac-12 (then the Pac-10) won Player of the Year without leading his team in scoring was Mike Bibby, and we all know what he went on to be. Gutierrez is a different player than Bibby, but his contributions go well beyond the scoring column. The 6'3" native of Mexico finished the season averaging 12.9 ppg, 5.3 rpg and 4.0 apg as one of the best on-ball defenders in the country and an emotional and intense leader. Gutierrez is the kind of kid you love to have on your team but you despise playing against.

Coach of the Year: Tad Boyle, Colorado

The Buffaloes slumped a bit late in the season and it probably cost them any shot of getting an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament, which was no doubt disappointing. But the fact that this team, after losing Alec Burks and Cory Higgins, was still in the running for an NCAA Tournament berth this season was tremendous. Boyle did a great job with this group and deserves to be recognized.

Rookie of the Year: Tony Wroten Jr., Washington

From an efficiency standpoint, Wroten did not have a great season. He dominated possession (his usage rate was 33.0%) while post just 0.95 PPP, which means he was not exactly a modicum of efficiency. That said, he was the dynamic playmaker that Lorenzo Romar was looking for with Isaiah Thomas in the NBA. Better shot selection and fewer turnovers from Wroten would be nice, but he’ll learn. He’s only a freshman, after all.

Sixth-Man of the Year: Askia Booker, Colorado

A slender, 6'1" freshman, Booker is an LA native that was overlooked by most of the Pac-12 schools during his recruitment. That is, except Colorado. Now that he’s enrolled in Boulder, the athletic Booker is looking to get his revenge. He’s doing a fair job of it as well, averaging 9.4 ppg off the bench.

Defensive Player of the Year: Jared Cunningham, Oregon State

It really is a toss-up between Cunningham and Gutierrez, but I am going to go with Cunningham here. He’s a better athlete and he’s more dangerous in the passing lanes, and while his play hasn’t led to as many wins as Gutierrez has gotten with Cal, without Cunningham’s performance on that end of the floor OSU would not have won seven league games.

All-Pac-12 First Team

POY: Jorge Gutierrez, Sr., Cal
G: Devoe Joseph, Sr., Oregon
G: Jared Cunningham, Jr., Oregon State
F: Allen Crabbe, So., Cal
F: Terrence Ross, So., Washington
F: Brock Motum, Jr., Washington State

All-Pac-12 Second Team

G: Tony Wroten, Fr., Washington
G: Kyle Fogg, Sr., Arizona
F: Solomon Hill, Jr., Arizona
F: Andre Roberson, So., Colorado
F: EJ Singler, Jr., Oregon

Rob Dauster is the editor of the college basketball website Ballin’ is a Habit. You can find him on twitter @robdauster.