Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Cliff Alexander, Aaron Harrison among early entrants not selected Thursday night

Cliff Alexander

AP Photo


Given the fact that there are only 60 available draft slots and the number of eligible players are even higher, there are bound to be players who don’t get to experience hearing their name called at the NBA Draft. That was the case for some notable college players who made the decision to forego their remaining college eligibility to take their shot at the NBA Draft.

Among the players who weren’t selected were former Kansas forward Cliff Alexander, former Kentucky guard Aaron Harrison and former UNLV forward Christian Wood. Wood, a player some believed to have a shot at being selected in the first round heading into the draft, may have been the most surprising omission amongst those who left school with eligibility remaining.
MORE: Karl-Anthony Towns goes first overall | Four Kentucky players picked in lottery

Some players decide to turn pro in hopes of landing a job anywhere in pro basketball, which will explain some of the players on the list. And while not being selected is certainly a negative, those players will have the opportunity to figure out which summer league situation (in Orlando, Las Vegas or both) represents the best opportunity to earn a spot on a team’s training camp roster.

Thursday night represents a tough reality for these players, especially those whose draft status was hurt by issues away from the court. But even with that being the case, it doesn’t have to be the end of the road for them. Below is the list of college players with eligibility remaining who were not selected in Thursday’s NBA Draft.

Cliff Alexander, Kansas
Brandon Ashley, Arizona
Michael Frazier II, Florida
Aaron Harrison, Kentucky
Jerome Hill, Gardner-Webb
Vince Hunter, UTEP
Charles Jackson, Tennessee Tech
Trevor Lacey, NC State
Ashton Pankey, Manhattan
Terran Petteway, Nebraska
Walter Pitchford, Nebraska
Michael Qualls, Arkansas
Jherrod Stiggers, Houston
Deonta Stocks, West Georgia
Aaron Thomas, Florida State (declared academically ineligible)
Robert Upshaw, Washington (dismissed mid-year)
Chris Walker, Florida
Christian Wood, UNLV