Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Creighton’s Doug McDermott wins Wooden Award


Another day, and another Player of the Year honor for Creighton senior forward Doug McDermott. Friday afternoon, hours after McDermott was given the Oscar Roberton Award by the USBWA, he was announced as the winner of the John R. Wooden Award.

McDermott received 3,930 votes, with Duke’s Jabari Parker and Louisville’s Russ Smith finishing second and third, respectively. McDermott is the first winner for a Big East member since Walter Berry won the Wooden Award in 1986.

McDermott shot 52.6% from the field, 44.9% from three and 86.4% from the foul line as a senior, averaging 26.7 points and 7.0 rebounds per game.

Rounding out the top five were Wichita State’s Cleanthony Early and Arizona’s Nick Johnson.

Follow @raphiellej