Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Dr. J Award watch list released

Kansas v Villanova

LOUISVILLE, KY - MARCH 26: Josh Hart #3 of the Villanova Wildcats reacts in the second half against the Kansas Jayhawks during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament South Regional at KFC YUM! Center on March 26, 2016 in Louisville, Kentucky. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The preseason watch list for the Julius Irving Award, given annually to the country’s top small forward, was announced Wednesday with 20 players making the initial cut.

Michigan State’s Denzel Valentine won the award last season and Stanley Johnson of Arizona the year before.

The list of 20 isn’t definitive as players can make their way on to it when it’s trimmed to 10 players in mid-February and then five finalists finalists in March before the winner is announced in April.

Here’s the full list of players:

Evan Bradds, Belmont

Kelan Martin, Butler

Jaron Blossomgame, Clemson

Terry Larrier, Connecticut

Jayson Tatum, Duke

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State

OG Anunoby, Indiana

Deng Adel, Louisville

Justin Jackson, UNC

VJ Beachem, Notre Dame

Jae’Sean Tate, Ohio State

Dillon Brooks, Oregon

Tres Tinkle. Oregon State

Vince Edwards, Purdue

Dikembe Dixson, UIC

Kevin Hervey, UT Arlington

Jalen Moore, Utah State

Josh Hart, Villanova

Markis McDuffie, Wichita State

Trevon Blueitt, Xaver