Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Illinois to honor starters on 2004-05 national runner-up squad with commemorative bobbleheads


Illinois Athletics

The 2014-15 season marks the ten-year anniversary of a special season in the history of Illinois basketball. Bruce Weber’s Fighting Illini went there no Illinois basketball program had gone before (or since), as they won 37 games and reached the national title game. Illinois revealed plans of honoring the starters on that team on Friday, with each of the starters getting their own bobblehead.

The five starters on that teams were guards Dee Brown, Deron Williams and Luther Head, and forward Roger Powell Jr. and James Augustine. And the process of getting one of these bobbleheads won’t be an easy one for Illinois fans.

There will be 1,000 of each bobblehead, and they’ll be given out at random at certain games this season. Powell’s first up, with his bobblehead to be given away at Illinois’ game against Maryland on January 7. Following him will be Augustine (January 21 vs. Purdue), Head (February 3 vs. Rutgers), Brown (February 12 vs. Michigan) and Williams (March 4 vs. Nebraska).

On each of those nights the first 6,000 fans to enter the State Farm Center will receive a scratch-off ticket, with the 1,000 winners receiving a free bobblehead. Bobbleheads will be available for purchase the day after their respective giveaways.

Follow @raphiellej