Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NCAA rules clear on Aaron Craft’s free-throw violation


Mike Miller

The final 2.9 second of Kansas’ 64-62 victory caused enough consternation among Ohio State fans that further explanation is warranted.

Particularly regarding free-throw rules.

Down by three points, Ohio State’s Aaron Craft made the first of two free throws, but was left with two options. Either make the second, then try to foul or steal then in-bounds, or miss the second free throw on purpose and go for the rebound. Ohio State elected for the option two.

Craft chucked the free throw off the rim, but was ruled for a lane violation. Some cried foul that his foot didn’t touch the floor before the ball hit the rim.

Per the NCAA rule book:

The free-thrower shall not break the vertical plan of the free-throw line with either foot until the ball strikes the ring, flange or backboard or until the free throw ends.

Video shows Craft crossing the plane before the ball hits the rim.

You also can follow me on Twitter @MikeMillerNBC.