Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Report: Emerald Coast Classic announces 2015 slate

John Groce

The second installment of the Emerald Coast Classic will be played in 2015 and the four main teams for the event have been named in a report from CBS Sports’ Jon Rothstein.

The two-day finale in Destin, Florida will feature Iowa State taking on Virginia Tech and Illinois battling UAB on Friday, Nov. 27, 2015. The winners and losers will battle on the following day, Saturday, Nov. 28.

The Emerald Coast Classic will take place on Nov. 28 this year with Cincinnati facing Middle Tennessee State and Creighton battling Ole Miss. Winners and losers play again on Nov. 29.

Overall, this is a pretty solid field for an event that is relatively new. The 2015 field could have two top-25 teams in Illinois and Iowa State, if both programs return the expected talent and fare as well as they can this season. Virginia Tech will also be in another year under Buzz Williams and UAB has shown flashes over the last few years.

Follow @phillipshoops